You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name Origin Challenge: full-measure

You know, these days, I'm hesitant when it comes to reading your blog posts. You write good stuff; it's just that sometimes I rather continue living the way I do currently. But with you, my comfort zone is always threatened.

I read this yesterday, upvoted walked away. Reading again now, I still feel the same way I felt yesterday

I mean, look at this:

Balance and the smooth temperate kind of world we all want to live in is what happens when you combine all the isolated spurts. You don't want to try to be or embody the average cross-section of everything. You want to be the complete expression of what you believe, and that's the best way to help balance the world.

I felt like it was a direct attack on my person. Someone once accused me of being Mr. Congeniality. Why, because I said I don't like making enemies.

You know why how I avoid making enemies? I try to incorporate a bit of everything into myself. Heck! Sometimes I feel like a cesspool of sorts, like ancient Rome or London that attracted all sorts.

It's not as if I don't want to take a stance, I just wonder if it's worth it. I mean, at the end, everyone simply wants to be happy and loved. I know the difference individualistic approaches to happiness will cause fiction and maybe conflicts. But then, can't we all be as flexible as we can?

Honestly, as I type these, I know I'm swerving off the point and making a baseless argument for my constant vacillating. Guess I'll have to make some changes.

It ties into why I love the non-aggression principle. It's more than just a tool to win arguments against statist dummies. It's the foundation of what you can and can't do. Don't initiate violence. And once you really appreciate that, it's liberating to realize that you can do everything else.

As usual, your post forces me to do some research. I like the idea of the Non Aggression Principle Even more so, Any Rand is also in the mix. I'm a fan of the objectivitist ethics. I believe that at the end, all human actions boils down to self preservation.

I respect people who are wrong way more than I respect people who are actively trying to be the moderate belief, or to be censored and ordinary.

This is a lot to ponder on. Thanks for sharing though.

Blessings

Sort:  

Wow. Your introspection is like off the charts high.

I'm lost for what to say and may respond with more later, but just want to say, a tepid half-measure moderate I doubt would feel their comfort zone change.

The fact that you're examining it like that and feel that way kind of goes to show that you're what I would describe as a full force in the world.

Being congenial is one thing. I certainly don't go around making enemies either (only occasionally, like at the zoo, lol). It's not even that you have to call people out for bad ways, but if you know it in your heart, that's really all that matters. Then at least you'll know not to get too close or when it may be better to separate.. you won't become their bad ways.

Often you can take kernels of insight from all sorts of ideas or people. That's why I like when people are authentic rather than moderate. It could be that this is what you're doing. Which seems totally good and healthy.

It's not as if I don't want to take a stance, I just wonder if it's worth it. I mean, at the end, everyone simply wants to be happy and loved. I know the difference individualistic approaches to happiness will cause fiction and maybe conflicts. But then, can't we all be as flexible as we can?

It's a really interesting point/question. In an ideal state we don't have to worry about people having all these bad qualities, and you can just go around loving everyone, so I think there's like a "yearning" that we want to do that. Personally I try to be open to everyone, until I have good reason not to be. I like to be flexible in terms of understanding how they got to this point, and forgiving and giving lots of chances. But not flexible in terms of necessarily incorporating everything into myself, without a filter of whether it's good and useful for me or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49