The Steemit Name Challenge: My Entry

in #steemitnamechallenge6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180328_141004.jpg

Fellow eSteemed!!

I have been looking for an opportunity to tell people how I came about my steemit name because a lot of folks find it difficult to pronounce it..

I just got to know about the contest after reading @acidyo's entry, on that note I've decided to drop my own entry. The challenge was initiated by @felobtc. I wasn't nominated but I would like to explain what my steemit name actually means.

Here are the rules

  1. Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.

  2. Tell us your real name!

  3. If you could change your current username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!

  4. Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that I can track all the posts and check them out.

  5. Nominate 5 people for this challenge

The Story Behind My Steemit Name

I'm an undergraduate studying Geology. In my first year I got to learn a lot of cool geologic terminologies and names given to mineral(which are aggregates of rocks).

With these new stuffs I learnt, I fell in love with this particular mineral named @hornblende( which later became my name), It's a mineral constituent primarily found in igneous and metamorphic rocks. It's chemical formula made consist of several elements Sodium, Magnesium, Silicon, Oxygen, Hydrogen and flourine. The chemical formula is complex and the mineral has four end-members namely Hastingsite, Tschermakite, Edenite and Pargasite.

Sorry for the long science talk. But my fellow geologists can relate.

The name went viral when I used it as my facebook and whatsapp name. My friends and classmates started calling me @hornblende and that was how the name was on everyone's lip.
When I joined steemit, I had no other choice than to use it.

My Real Name Is Stephen Eriki.

If I could change my username now, I would have used my real name Stephen because a lot of my friends don't know my real name and it's as if my real name is going extinct. Another reason is that most people find it hard to pronounce it, only my classmates know the correct pronunciation.

For those having difficulty pronouncing the name, it's actually pronounced horn-blende you can remove the e at the back of the blend and it will still sound correct. Rather than pronouncing it as horn-blen-de.

I nominate @cryptoctopus, @paskoloo, @illuminatus, @ttopswag and @madmaxfury. I would love to know why they choosed their Steemit name and the story behind it.



Thanks For Reading.

Sort:  

Wait on mine... It's coming boss

You'll see it soon

Hahaha... Boss, i am coming

Great post! Nice to know more about you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51