Artemis Meets her Estranged Canadian Sister - Steemit Username Challenge

So I have been challenged! And it's a brave sister or member of the Pantheon who challenges Artemis when she comes in after a long hot day on the road in Thailand. But she has her quiver sorted, tunic straightened and is ready to go!

It would appear that @artemisnorth who is the sister of @shadowspub was trapped into participating in a challenge to talk about the origins of our usernames. Everyone is blaming @thealliance! Whatever. :) But a Goddess faced with someone TRAPPED can only really grab her arrows and run to the challenge. Kinda how we are wired and made. And so here I am.

The Rules:

Tell us in your post how you chose the current Steemit username you have, the story behind it.
Tell us your real name!
If you could change your current Steemit username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible >usernames list, mention it!* Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that I can track all the posts and check them out
Nominate 5 people for this challenge

My response:

I didn't choose my username, it basically chose me!! See, about 25 years ago when I was travelling and working out what to do with my life on the off chance that the chemo was successful, I spent 3 months in Greece. With some other women-acolytes-seekers, we retraced the Sacred Way - an ancient Eleusinian initiation path from Athens to Eleusis. Think of it as a Thelma & Louise meets the Camino Way, or something like that. @iliasdiamantis https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sacred_Way It was life-changing in that it really inspired me to LIVE again (as opposed to languishing in hospitals) and somewhere along the road, I was initiated in an ancient ceremony on the hillside in Delfi, and swore allegiance to Artemis. I was given a small, golden ring to mark the occasion which I always wear and never take off (the little band on the right).

Artemis.jpg

And so @artemislives is literally who I am and what I stand for. The barefoot, maiden huntress reborn in th moutnains of Greece, in charge of her own destiny, in harmony with the forest and Mother Moon and definitely not afraid to let a few arrows fly. And very much alive. Thankfully. 16 years completely clear after 10 years in oncology.

My real name? haha. deep breath Marike Louise Theodora Augustina Elizabeth van Breugel. We laughingly talk about the Dutch multi-name syndrome. :)

If I could change my username, I would probably be dead or turned into another creature. A jealous Pantheon habit, I'm afraid. However, I AM currently scribbling an entry for the Women's History Month Steemit Challenge about Charmadevi, the last of the great Mon warrior queens. There is a temple dedicated to her here in Chiang Mai, Thailand (Wat Doi Kham, close to where I live) which still has live blood sacrifice for Charmadevi once a year, cos her mojo was so strong and they are still scared of upsetting her spirit. Personally not into the blood thing but my mojo and influence lasting 1500 years? That works for me. :)

Who am I nominating for the challenge??

@happyphoenix
@karinxxl
@lovelyfeline
@sourceoftruth
@bongoshotkelly

Gratitude for the growing, fun circle of steem friends and supporters.

Sort:  

Very interesting story @artemislives .
In modern Greece we have named a road here in Athens sacred way ( iera odos ) and there are many nightclubs on this road.
Maybe this is our contribution to the civilization :(

Ah Yes. Deep sigh. Iera Odos and the intense Greek nightclub scene. An unfortunate naming. I prefer to think of YOU as one of Greece's contributions to civilization... :)

Oh thank you , I am blushing. I will make my best to live up to this...

nice explanation @artemislives.... thanks for playing along and participating.

It's a great learning & connecting tool, too. Nice. Fun. Thank you for the heads up in discord Gonna see if I can work through the PYPT 'thing' without freaking out. I WILL get better at this! :)

Great little story about Greece and your username

And it's even all true. :) Life is pretty damn awesome when people think it all sounds like a "great little story". A nice epitaph. :) Thank you for your support.

Hahahaha I really like this post from you and thank for the nomination!

Unfortunately my steemitname @karinxxl has no material for making a whole cool blog around. My name is just Karin and Im a tall Dutchy :)))

Also not even having the long second name sydrom on it, my name is only Karin hahahaha!

Only one name??? Oh. My. Buddha. Are you sure you are really Dutch?? haha Thank you for the kind words. But see I was SURE you could tell me some great story about your XXL appetite for life, or that you used to weight 192kg or something unusual. I'm also a tall Dutchy btw. 187cm. haha. En echte Haagse naam ook! :)

Hi @artemislives,

The story behind your name is really powerful! I am new to steemit and haven't really had time lately to post anything, but I will accept your challenge as one of my first posts. Thanks for the shout out :) This should be fun!

Buckling in and ready to enjoy and support you, @lovelyfeline Thanks for the nice feedback.

Thanks for your support.... yes, I have very cool friends, all around the world. :)

You are very kind, happy to be friends with you

The hardest thing for me is mentioned my real name ha...ha...! Okay give me some time to accept this challenge :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60814.66
ETH 2400.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60