Cookies Anyone? // Kue Kering Jahe

in #steemitmamas6 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends!


Hope this finds you well.

I baked cookies today :D

Cookies make me happy. Well baking always makes me happy. So am in a happy mood at the moment lol

My 4 yo definitely has the Halloween fever. He is very looking forward to Halloween. I wanted to bake cupcakes but he wanted Halloween cookies. Since Halloween is still a couple of weeks to go, but Thanksgiving is next Monday, I baked him Autumn-themed cookies instead hahaha

Hai Teman!


Tadi siang aku bikin kue kering. Rasa jahe.

Nih orang bule-bule punya tradisi, kalau musim dah mulai dingin, mereka suka bikin kue kering rasa jahe yang disebut dengan gingerbread cookies.

Si percil sih mintanya agar kue keringnya dihias ala Halloween, dia ga ga sabar buat Halloween, namun Senin depan adalah hari Thanksgiving dan Halloween masih ntar akhir bulan. Jadi aku hias kue keringnya sesuai tema Musim Gugur.

ot6ujwf42n.jpg



The following cookies are gingerbread with super easy icing. I did not want to make royal icing today, so a simple icing was good enough.

I free-cut the leaf cookies as I did not have leaf-cookie cutter. They turned up fine, if I may say so myself lol

I decided not to icing the leaves but instead I made colorful dough, which of course gingerbread is brownish color, so making yellow leaf was not possible. My leaves are only greenish, brownis, reddish, in the end. Still pretty!

Resep kue kering dibawah ini merupakan resep andalanku. Kalau teman tidak punya telur ataupun alergi telur, kue kering berikut ini tidak menggunakan telur dan juga tanpa produk hewani lainnya, alias vegan.

Ga ribet bikinnya, apalagi kalau punya cetakan kue kering, cepat dan ringkas. Aku sih punya namun tak lengkap. Untuk model lainnya ada, tapi karena Musim Gugur identik juga dengan daun yang berjatuhan, karena ga ada cetakannya, aku potong sendiri pakai pisau hahahaha

Bikin glazurnya pun males yang neko-neko. Bener deh, resepku keseringan anti ribet :D

43o0muw7pb.jpg



Here is the recipe if you'd like to make them as well :D My recipe is also perfect to be used for building gingerbread house, btw!

- 2 flax eggs
- 3 1/4 c flour
- 1/2 c molasses (divide)
- 1 tsp BSoda
- A pinch of salt
- 1 tsp each cinnamon powder and nutmeg powder
- 1 adult point finger of fresh ginger, scraped, crushed, to produce juice. Use only the juice, discard the flesh
- 1/2 c coconut palm sugar
- 8 tbsp vegetable shortening

Nih yah resepnya kalau teman tertarik. Oia, karena adonannya kan cokelat gelap tuh, jadi aku daun-daunku ga ada warna kuningnya wkwkw

- 2 telur vegan, dari biji rumi *atau 2 telur ayam*
- 3 1/4 gelas terigu
- 1/2 gelas molasses (di Indonesia ada ga yah?)
- 1 sdt soda kue
- sejumput garam
- masing-masing 1 sdt kayu manis bubuk dan pala bubuk
- 1 jari telunjuk orang dewasa, jahe segar, buang kulitnya, remukkan dan ambil airnya saja
- 1/2 gelas gula palem
- 8 sdm mentega putih/mentega/margarin

m0ihxpqjxj.jpg



- Mix dry ingredients
- Cream shortening and brown sugar
- Beat in 1/4 c molasses and flax egg
- Add in dry mix a little at a time
- Beat in the other 1/4 c molasses
- Knead a little (Take some away, and color as you wish, to make leaves)
- Roll flat and cut as you like
- Bake on preheated 350 F for 10-11 mins
- Cool on rack completely before decorating.

- Campurkan bahan kering
- Kocok mentega putih dan gula palem hingga agak pucat, masukkan telur vegan/telur ayam
- Tuang molasses
- Masukkan bahan kering sedikit demi sedikit
- Uleni, gilas, potong dengan cetakan
- Panggang pada oven yang sudah dipanaskan dulu 350 F selama 10-11 menit
- Dinginkan sebelum dihias

rl22sh16q0.jpg



For the icing, all I did was mixing icing sugar with a little water, a little light corn syrup, almond essence and food coloring of your choice. I did not use measurement to be honest, just until consistency is right.

While the turkey, apple, pumpkin are with the icing, the squirrel was with melted DF chocolate chip.

Untuk glazur sih aku ga pakai ukuran yah, hanya gula bubuk dicampur sedikit air matang/susu cair, sedikit perisa makanan, sedikit pewarna makanan. Sudah itu doang. Kalau buat mata ayam kalkun serta bulunya tupai, aku pakai coklat leleh.

Gampang kan? :D

dgyq09yrfd.jpg


d6syk1cl3k.jpg



Ta-daaaaa

They are delish!

Thanks for looking, you guys, and see you tomorrow again :)

Terus ciptakan artikel yang menarik dan gunakan tagar #nusantara, dan juga vote thekitchenfairy sebagai Steemit Witness kalian di https://steemit.com/~witnesses Pada kolom yang tersedia, ketik thekitchenfairy dan klik VOTE :D


VOTE me as your witness at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. On the provided box, type thekitchenfairy and click VOTE
Find me on Discord, being friendly on #PAL, #thealliance, #vegansofsteemit, #anzub, #adsactly, #ghscollective, #steemitmamas, #teamgood, #steemitbloggers

gleup8zhuq.jpg

2tu00br9o9.png


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits


Sort:  

I really like biscuits (cookies), @thekitchenfairy. I'm always on the look out for the perfect crunchy cookie :D Thank you for the recipe !

Gingerbread is a favourite in our house. I am finding the kids here (Nicaraguan) also love gingerbread. They never had any before I baked some cookies for them. I think a very large gingerbread house is in order for Christmas...

you are awesome! and oooh would love to see a gingerbread house!

we enter competition yearly in November, but am not sure I would want to participate this year. somehow i am lazy for everything. I cant wait for Thanksgiving and Halloween but I dont feel like doing nothing, idk why. I brought it up to my husband just 2 days ago that I dont feel like entering for this year's competition, and he called me crazy hahahah

You are the kitchen fairy indeed! You're really talented 😘

koszi szepen erikah <3

Csak így tovább!

howdy there thekitchenfairy! hey cookies make me happy too! but for some reason mine don't look as nice. Hey your's are so beautiful I wouldn't want to eat them, it would be like eating artwork! lol.

you are too kind!

my boys hogged them like crazy. my 4 yo didnt even want to wait til icing firm enough lol

howdy thekitchenfairy! haha! a kid after my own heart! I like that one. well remember the Cookie Monster from Sesame Street? They patterned that character after me! lol.

We have autumn chocolate here they look the Same ! Really the water is running in My mouth

i thought you were gonna say cheese! (since you are in the Netherlands) hahaha

We got cheese and tulips to Thats true 😂

The cookies looks too good to eat them! Lolololol pls adopt me seems like it’s always fun in your house hahahahaha

By the way when is thanksgiving over there??? Next monday is?? Oct8?? Cool I didn’t know you guys celebrate thanksgiving early heheh where have i been?!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, we have early Thanksgiving compare to our American neighbor haha I think since the harvest and changing season also earlier, hence early Thanksgiving for us :)

drives me crazy tho, everytime we are done with ours, then you guys celebrate yours, I want to recelebrate ours too hahaha

Hahaha! Why not?! It’s always fun to celebrate anyway. To more turkeys! Lololol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wish I had one of those cookies!

Panama is too far, I have yet to figure out how to ship cookies overseas that wont arrive in crumbs or stale hard for being too long in the clouds or warehouse idk how those mail companies do their magic lol otherwise would ship some!

Lol. I appreciate the thought you've put into working out the logistics.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE what you did with the colored dough for the leaves. Those are perfection :) Such a wonderful creative idea.

if it wasnt gingerbread cookies, i would have yellow portion and they would be extra prettier :D

These are so cute! I especially love the leaf cookies.
Thanks for sharing your recipe! ♥

many thanks and my pleasure!! <3

They look perfect!!! Simple icing? Hahaha hat turkey, pumpkin, squirrel, apple and even the leaf! I can't even pinpoint which is my favorite. Hahaha I like gingerbread cookies too, maybe because of the gibberish flavour in it. It reminds me of Christmas :) You are so talented to cut the leaf without a cookie cutter or mould, @thekitchenfairy! :)😍

its similar to Lapis Legit flavor @happycrazycon, but with additional ginger hahaha

terimakasih <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93