Ulog #11 Love is spending DAYS on your child's costume to be worn for a total of 45 minutes

in #steemitmamas6 years ago (edited)

You might have previously read about my frustration from my previous Ulog here - where I started making a costume for my daughter for Book Week before finding our my daughter's school is ONLY school that doesn't do book week activities!

I have some good news, because a few weeks later I found out the school will be doing a big Science expo and everyone will present a model of some sort and can be in costume.

Well, count me in! 🙋

I was particularly happy that my previous Ms Frizzle idea from The Magic School Bus can still apply for the science expo because Ms Frizzle is a science teacher! 💡

I'm so very pleased to show you my Ms Frizzle outfit, but no longer a space theme but a coral reef theme:

IMG_1860.jpg

My DD's chosen sea creature is the Killer Whale so here's the back:
IMG_1804.jpg

Here's her 3D model:
IMG_1850.jpg

And look at the school hall!

IMG_1854.jpg

The one gripe I have about this is the evolution of Ms Frizzle in the media. Here's a pic of Ms Frizzle if you're not familiar:

alttekffhfiwm49hdsy5.jpg

Picture from here

Ms Frizzle is supposed to be this flamboyant, hands-on Science teacher who wears outfits based on whatever the children are learning, I was very excited and then disappointed that Netflix remade The Magic School Bus series, and now Ms Frizzle's sister who is taking over look like this:

image.jpg

Lovely but not the flamboyant science teacher I grew up reading! And EW, where I got this picture from, agrees!.

What do you think?

Sort:  

Wow the new one just looks like those typical children’s cartoons on YouTube! It doesn’t express the special personality the old one has

I know, right?!

What a fun idea for the kids to do. Helps them really get into their roles of science!
The Magic School Bus was definitely a great source of information for us when we were kids. I guess the newer updated version is because they have to go against so many other newer cartoons, they have to make it in a way to try and attract kids to watch their education program. I haven't watched it yet so I can't really give an opinion based on it just yet. Keeping my mind open.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67