My eldest kid just got accepted into a modelling agency...Ulog #7

in #steemitmamas6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-08-01 at 10.14.23 pm.jpg

Hi Steemians 👋 👋 👋

I never thought there will be a time where I shared MORE on #steemit than I do in #reallife. But there's a first for everything!

I registered my eldest daughter for a talent/modelling agency on a whim. And you can read about my thoughts on this original post here, but I NEVER thought she would actually get in.

And now, I have a lot of questions in my head. I am not telling my friends in the "real world" (except for a couple - invincyble and jay.ell - I'm looking at you!) because I believe child modelling is a bit of a touchy issue. I think a lot of people will have a lot of opinions about it, and I don't need their judgement.

But fellow @steemitmamas and steemians, I feel like this is a safe space to share!

I am an educator and so naturally, I am self critical and aware enough of what the perception of child modelling to people would look like. Without repeating those perceptions or perhaps, misconceptions written in my original post, my current questions are:

Will my child be part of an industry that supports the oversexualisation of children?

Am I encouraging my child to grow up and value vanity and outward appearances?

Do I believe in child employment?

Should I allow my child to miss school due to auditions or photo shoots?

What is the end goal here? A career in the entertainment industry or just a bit of fun?

How do I feel about my child's image used publically and for advertising purposes?

I have no answers to my own questions.

I did however email the agency back, asking them if I have the right to say no to certain "jobs" due to school commitments etc. after I sign the contract and I haven't heard back.

I'm a little nervous...and am eager for your thoughts!

20180516_002249_0001.pngQmXUYBeYj4y35jG8Y7mLGs815b7gKot2YWqNZimTJC4Twg.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! ♥
Best of luck figuring out what you want to do. Its a tough choice and there are many things to take into consideration.
I know you will figure out the best choice for her. :)

Thank you! They haven't gotten back to us yet @squishysquid

Hope you get to say no! Cos it’s your right to after all!
I think it should be more a fun experience and educational too hopefully. Perhaps think more about learning experience for her when explaining to her.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I know what ure feeling. I recently got my son to be an actor in a video for a 🏨 which I work for. I was the project leader & needed a child model. So, I convinced myself that it's for his future in case he wanted to explore his creativity in the advertising industry. Since, I was project leader I could control the distribution.

Check out this link of the video my son acted in. I have to say I'm really proud of him.
http://www.thelivingroomhotel.com/thelivingroom-hotel-video/

Thanks so cool, I'll check it out now @ireenchew

There are also those children that are busking on the street (with or without adult supervision) to consider...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66