What is It That You Desire?

in #steemitmamas5 years ago

So today's my birthday. To be honest, I wasn't as thrilled as I was before. Back when I was younger, the month before my birthmonth will be filled with excitement plannibg what I would do for myself. Then I'd have a full month during my birthmonth trying to make myself feel special. So self-centered, I know. But what can I do? That was how society trained me to feel about birthdays.

It might be because of old age (or age catching up on me or whatever), for sone reason, I don't feel like doing anything on my birthday. Well, at least nothing too extravagant or loud or booze-filled celebrations.

I actually have celebrated it a couple of minutes ago. I gave myself a nice long bath time, gave myself an uniterrupted coffee time, and watched my favorite series while finishing up my latest crochet project.

When I became a full time stay at home mom, these things became luxury to me. I actually hed to make sure the kid goes to sleep early, all the clothes have been folded, ironed, and put away, the dishes washed and the house cleaned before I started with my luxurious me time.

I just have this guilt inside of me that keeps on nagging whenever I sit down to relax when there are unfinished chores in the house. I guess that's really how it is when you're a mom. But today, I'm not giving in to that guilt. hehe. Because I made sure everything is done before my birthday.

And today, all I desire is to have a good time with the two most important persons in my life. My daughter and my husband. So much for alcohol and food and gifts. Because five years ago, I received my first wish - to be married to the man I love. And three years ago, I was given the one thing I desire most - to become a mom. And I was given a really amazing daughter. Yeah she's witty (a little too witty sometimes) it's like I'm dealing with a smaller version of me every single day. But I wouldn't have it any other way.

I'm not excited about partying on my birthday. Maybe it's because of the thought that I'm getting older. You can say that. I literally just refused an invitation for an all you can eat seafood buffet.

But I think it has something to do with me receiving the things I desire most in life. And right now, all I can think of is making sure I take care of these precious gifts. So yeah. Happy birthday to me.

Sort:  

Happy birthday, now the things you value are different, and you have close to who really matters, enjoy every moment and let life flow.

Thanks. I guess with age sometimes does come maturity. And contentment. And purpose. :)

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @the01crow on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.026 which ranks you at #10988 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 105 contributions, your post is ranked at #100.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nice post. My desire is to think clearly and to help other people think clearly 🙂🖐️

~ @chrisrice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80