Aya's Playbook Tactic #1: The Pig

in #steemitmamas4 years ago

Taking care of a toddler is often like an adventure. You'll never know where you and your kid will be. But more importantly, you'll always be surprised at what they got for you at any point of the day.

Today, I may or may have not promised to give my kid a big unicorn with pink, green, red, blue, and orange stripes. I cannot be really sure at this point. I for one am very careful of the promises I give her and I make sure that I deliver. Trust is something that I can leverage with her for the rest of our lives and I wouldn't want to mess that up.

How did we come to the promise/nonpromise of the certain colorful gigantic unicorn? She used a page on her playbook.

The Pig

Her play will start at any unexpected moment during the day. It maybe during the time she is watching her cartoons while I am busy cleaning up the kitchen or bathroom.

She then will start crying like crazy. I will then swoop in and ask her "What's wrong baby?" Because that's what moms do. We figure out what's making them cry and see what we can do to stop the crying so that we could get back to doing our chores so that we could play with our kids.

She will then hug me and say "I'm sad." To which I would reply "Why? What's making you sad?" She will then reply " I don't like a pig." She will hug me some more for added dramatic effect. At this point, I am confused as to why she's talking about a pig, I am worried that the water in the sink might overflow, and I am feeling a bit high with her wrapping her little arms around me like I am her only source of comfort.

I will then tell her "We don't have a pig." She will then cry a bit more, hugging me a little bit tighter. With my mothers' instinct rushing all over me, I will calm her down and assure her "It's alright baby, we don't have a pig. Don't cry."

The mention of the word "pig" would then trigger some more emotions from her. This would go on for a few more minutes. And when she feels like I am super high with her hugs and overwhelmed with confusion and chaos in my head, she will then say "I don't like a pig. I like a unicorn." I will pause for a few minutes trying to figure out Where did that really come from?

She will try to keep me away from my focus, and in between tears, she will then tell me the specifics of the unicorn that she wants. I am still a little bit stirred up with all the emotions she is manifesting.

Right now, I'm still not sure if what I said was

"Hush now baby. Yes, we don't like a pig. We like a unicorn."

or

"Hush now baby, we'll not get a pig. We'll get a unicorn."

Heck! I sure as heck did not plan on getting her a pig! Now I think I may have promised her a unicorn.

This kid should get a different nickname!

The Manipulator

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 173 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Heya, I am glad @truffle pig recognized your great post, I also shared it as a part of the steemitmamas Sunday Shares :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67