Countering Mom or Finding Solutions?

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

I like to put certain things (play-doh, chemicals, and random things kids shouldn’t have access to) up high and out of sight.

My kids like to do stuff like put step stools on top of chairs to get to the stuff I think is “hidden.”

I don’t really know how to react when stuff like this happens. On one hand they are breaking unspoken rules, on the other hand, they are finding solutions to their “problems” (getting to the play-doh).

Really though, it’s just funny to me that they do such stuff.

I guess the unspoken rules will have to be voiced out loud.

If you need a chair AND a stool to reach something, then you have to wait for an adult to help you get it.

The cool thing about not having very many rules, is that the kids tend to follow them.

This past week my middle child started school and she is being given instructions on things such as how she forms her letters. She loves school but is starting to question of why there are so many rules.

Welcome to the world of micro managing kid. I tried to keep you away from it while we homeschooled. Perhaps together we can learn to counter it.

https://d1vof77qrk4l5q.cloudfront.net/img/metzli-countering-mom-or-finding-solutions-ztjguval-1547934848424.jpg

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Lol
Thats just kids for you, they dont want so much rules and they play with every damn things

Yes! And for the most part I want to let them... the play doh though, what a mess!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeeha! Change the world with kids that question why things must be the way they are.

But yeah. Unspoken rules should be spoken.

I know... unspoken rules should be spoken. But, unspoken rules mean you have to use common sense in life to survive...

“Don’t poke bears” shouldn’t be a rule! It should be something you inherently know.

Posted using Partiko iOS

But bears are soft and cuddly;

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, yes the world/school out there and 377 rules, some you don't even believe in and some you are against.

I have fought some, others I tell the kids it is survival and we have to pick and choose our battles....
When they were younger it was tough and confusing to them... but now they are older and I think they get it
All the best balancing your believes and conforming... hugs

Thanks for stopping by. She was so confused ... “Mom, does it matter how I make my “e” it’s still an “e” if I do it like I want, right?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by metzli from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

😊
Education can seem so limiting.
I sent my kids to Montessori school for grades 1-4 and I think it gave them enough flexibility to pick what they wanted to learn that day, that learning was fun.

We unschooled/home schooled and she’s enjoying the transition, but questioning the rules a little.

“That’s how they do it at school, honey.”

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good Answer!
👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76