SteemitMamas Write Along - Prompt 3/Day 5 - Favorite Childhood Toy

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

5A05EB1A-CAEF-439C-8AC2-AFDE337801AC.jpeg

source

Thank you @steemitmamas for another awesome #writealong challenge! I have to admit that it took me awhile to figure out what my favorite childhood toy was. I have a few fond memories of playing with my toys but the one that stands out the most is this Easy-Bake Oven!

It was every little girl’s dream (or at least mine) to be able to bake like her mother. I have short glimpses of my mother cooking in our kitchen back then. I remember peaking in from around the corner and sticking my nose in the kitchen to get a better whiff.

I loved baked treats so much and I wanted them more often. It was only so often we were able to have a sweet treat. My parents got me the Easy-Bake Oven for Christmas. I can’t remember how old I was but I do remember my older siblings waiting for me to make them treats lol!

1B62511B-9F46-42FD-AF30-4D4EF6D067D1.png

A02735E8-9AF9-41E2-80F0-6E95DE3C3405.jpeg

source

I don’t remember any of my treats looking as good as these. They must only look this good in advertisements. However I do remember the treats tasting fairly decent...but never as good as mom’s baked treats.

I remember having this sense of accomplishment when I took out one of my finished treats from the oven. I didn’t mind that they weren’t advertisement pretty, I was just happy to be able to bake like my mother and share my treats with everyone.

My daughter has shown interests in getting something similar to this but I told her she can continue to learn how to cook with me using the real oven. Although I think these ovens are a cute idea, I want my kids cooking in the big kitchen with real appliances. I told my eight year old I expect her to be cooking family dinners next year!! 😂 Okay maybe I’ll give her a few years...I’m just looking forward to it!

868FD025-A1BB-4CD7-B04C-94331FB1784B.png

If you are a mom or an expecting mom please come and check us out over in Discord! We are just a group of mamas sharing our world and supporting one another as we do this thing called Life ~ 💗

Thanks for Reading!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Such great memories!

Thanks to @anouk.nox, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Oh wow thank you so much!!!

Thank you to @anouk.nox!! 😃

Hello friend, how are you@crosheille
Every day your post is great I appreciate your valuable post
Proper cooking my favorite I like this post thanks for sharing this beautiful blog

I think that's a great idea @crosheille, to teach your daughter to cook in the kitchen rather than with a toy. 😊

you've got me thinking now . . . as to what my favourite childhood toy was . . . hmmm. I'll have to think. 😁

Will you share with us when you do?

https://steemit.com/steemitmamas/@steemitmamas/write-along-day-5-prompt-3-what-is-your-favorite-childhood-toy

It's for the @steemitmamas write along challenge but you can join us if you'd like.

I will if I come up with something @metzli. Thank you the invitation. 😊

Thank you! I feel doing so will better prepare her :)
Yes as @metzli stated please do share with us!! 😃

Hi @crosheille can I use the footer for a blog to promote #steemitmamas to My followers ?
Saw the Discord message so were live ....

Hey @brittandjosie absolutely you can!! We want the word spread about the group! Thank you!! I’m so glad you joined us!! 😉

I used the footer Thanks

Anytime! 😉

Wow - I have always wanted an Easy Bake oven! It was on my Christmas list every year up until I turned 10 or 11. Then it was time to use the regular stove and oven. 😎
Wonderful post - brought back memories....

Thanks for reading! There’s nothing like the real deal lol!!! It does bring back memories.

Oh cool! I never had one of those, haha. As a girl, I wanted one, but my mom said if I want to cook, just use the real oven. ;)
I cant believe the steemitmamas write along is going on and I missed out. Ill have to check it out later and join in!

You have not missed out, it is still going on!

Ugh! I keep getting ultra busy! Havent even been on steemit for 4 days...

Haaa! That’s so funny! Yes that’s the approach I’m taking with my daughter. We got her a kid sewing machine but with cooking I think the best way to learn is with the real thing!

You haven’t missed it!! There’s still time! 😉

I was going to get my daughter a kids sewing machine, but my friend said she bought one for her daughter and it was garbage. I went ahead and got her an adult sewing machine for last Xmas, and she LOVES it! I was afraid she would sew her fingers or something, but nope. She sews like a pro now. ;)

Your friend is right! They don’t make the kid ones up to quality and we just recently found out my daughters machine doesn’t sew any more. It like just stopped stitching correctly. My mom came over to take a look at it and she can’t even get it to work (if she can’t nobody can, she’s been sewing for ever and knows all about machines). So my daughter just told me she wants to try and sew on a regular one ;)

Hopefully one day she’ll be sewing like a pro too!

Oh how disappointing!! Hopefully you can find her a regular one soon. Sometimes you can find them used for cheap because the person got bored with sewing.

I know it really is disappointing. Thanks for that tip! 😉

Lovely post, @crosheille. I totally agree about using proper cooking equipment to encourage children to cook - though we still use some of their cookie cutters from baking kits because they were so cute :D
I'm just investigating the steemitmamas discord channel, thank you !

I think you are there already. Will you be joining our write-along? We'd love for you to hop right in.

Thank you @metzli... I have just finished writing a post now :D

Awesome I’ll come check it out! 👌🏽

Thank you @cryptocariad! I think it’s great that you still use the cookie cutters from their baking kits. Starting off with something familiar to them is a great idea!

I’m so glad you joined us!!

#steemitmamas

wow such an awesome toy!!! I wish I had more girly things to play with as a kid, then I would be better at baking and homemaking haha...

LOL. Blame it on the toys...

😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haa!! I’m still not the best baker...I’m only good at baking cookies lol!!

Welcome to the challenge. It's great fun even for me being the first time joining.

I thought toys are just toys, not real life tools that can really bake. We never had such luxury here 😁

Btw, your daughter is progressing to be Masterchef too 👏

Thank you! It is a lot of fun doing these! I’m glad you enjoyed your first time!

Oh they keep surprising us every year with something new.

Oh yes she is!! 😅

The easy bake oven! I liked it too, but my mom was much like you are now, she told me to bake what I wanted and put it in the "real" oven. That year I really wanted the oven I made a cornish hen for thanksgiving and got to cook it next to my mom's turkey. Now I realize that they easy-bake oven would NOT have worked for my hen HAHAHA.

But I did have easy bake ovens available to me and LOL they DID NOT look like the advertisements! Another thing was, that the powders and mixtures ran out quick and getting replacements meant waiting for another birthday or Christmas.

😂😂😂 oh yes that’s so true and hilarious! I remember waiting for an eternity to be able to cook again once I ran out of mixture. They sure know how to make toys that keeps you spending your money.

Oh wow you cooked a hen when you were younger, how awesome! Lol right that easy bake wouldn’t have been easy with that hen!! Haaa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82