Steemitmamas Parent Contest - Week 1

in #steemitmamas5 years ago

B8B28821-CEB1-4B58-AD11-10AB41DB50AC.jpeg

source

This is my entry for the @steemitmamas Parent Contest Week 1! There is still time for you to enter! The first round ends this Thursday as the second round begins. My entry won’t count towards the prizes as I am one of the judges. I didn’t want to miss out on an opportunity to share in this subject.

For this first round we are writing about our greatest fear as parents. There are so many fears we come across as parents. So many worries and scary thoughts that come up that we wish we didn’t have. For a long time my husband and I didn’t want to have children. We didn’t want to bring children into this cold harsh world full of dangers. I didn’t want to spend my life worried and fearful of the worst. Well God had other plans for us being we have five! I have to face my fears and talk about them to help me get through them.

For the longest time my biggest fear was for my children to die before me. Miscarriage was hard enough as it was (and still is an emotional battle today), I can’t imagine losing a child I have seen, gotten to hold and care for and watch grow up. I pray I never have to find out.

As a Christian parent my fear goes even deeper than death. My greatest fear is that my children die without Christ. If they die without accepting the Lord as their personal Savior they will be eternally lost...this is way more scarier than death itself. I know each of them will meet this fate one day but I pray they are saved when they do.

C7C5C9C1-FDA0-43D0-949D-B5862A1FE4FD.png

6567458F-3A93-432C-B8DD-BD8AF1473FE4.jpeg

source

Our 5, 7 and 8 year old comprehend things of the Bible extremely well. They are constantly asking questions and curious about life. They understand and believe what Christ did for us on the cross and that He had victory over death. We pray they walk in obedience and follow His ways all the days of their life. The Bible tells us to...

Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6 KJV

All we can do is this and hope and pray they continue on the righteous path and not forget our teaching. We hope that our other two young ones have the same passion and love for God and that they too choose Him!

6BBABA64-0CFC-4A92-9CB8-EBA5402A0A02.png

So what is your greatest fear as a parent? Please join in on the contest and share with us!

Thanks for Reading!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Hey @crosheille. You spelled out what I fear too. About my children dying before me, especially with so many news these days. Thank God He is the REAL Protector of the children. Else, I think this fear can really torture me!

I agree @happycrazycon! If He wasn’t our protector I would be suffering in this fear.

Thanks so much for reading and commenting :)

No parent should see their child go first
It's too harsh...
May have been the reason I helicoptered in the early years... may not have been best way either to raise them... ahhh
Maybe I should get to writing my fears
Hugs @crosheille

I couldn’t agree more! Thanks @kaerpediem!

I wish i could Erase fear, thank you for this challange

I wish too! It’s our pleasure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13