Look what steemit made me do...i think i am going crazy!

in #steemitmademedo6 years ago (edited)

hat-591973_1280.jpg
source

Life was basically normal before i heard about steemit. The length i have gone just for steemit is surprising. I am definitely not the same person i was before i joined steemit.

Steemit has made me an internet freak

Whenever there is power on my phone and the internet service is good, you can bet i would be online checking my blog, feed and browsing for contests. Participating in contests is my way of earning on steemit as my posts pay little. When i wake up in the morning, the first thing i do is pick up my phone and check steemit...particularly my wallet. I have sometimes stayed in strange places to browse the internet because the connection was more secure at that location. I have spent time in the toilet, in stranger's shops, at a time an abandoned building and a whole lot of other places. See what steemit made me do?

I am like an homeless individual

Charging my phone is obviously a priority as it is the medium i use to post on steemit. Imagine living in an area where the power supply is epileptic. I have to walk long distances to get a place to charge my phone. I once stood for five hours on the same spot charging my phone. I could not leave my phone to find a place to sit for fear of theft. I have had to go to a stranger's house which was risky just because i had to charge my phone. You see what steemit made me do?

I now suffer from self induced insomnia

Data to surf the net is quite expensive in Nigeria. A month's worth of internet subscription was usually enough for me for that period but now, it is barely enough to last a week. It was really frustrating my first few weeks on steemit. Now i don't sleep because i am trying to minimize cost. Night browsing is so much cheaper that it only makes sense to use that instead. So i have to stay awake till the early hours of the morning, typing and researching...all for steemit.Now i can't sleep because its an habit now.

I am now anti-social

I have no time for my friends anymore. I can't follow a conversation without checking my phone and taking advantage of internet connection and we all know the key to good conversation is listening, giving the other person rapt attention. I now have the bad habit of typing and pretending to listen which is not good enough. I would prefer sitting in a room with power, and good internet than hanging out with friends. Its been weeks since i read a novel. I have spent two weeks on a novel that usually takes me a day or two to complete.

Dear reader, see what steemit has made me do. Isn't it weird enough. I have resolved to take it slow . There should be life outside steemit, i know this challenge is general. Taking time off won't hurt. I think i would leave my phone at home for an outing with my friends tomorrow. You can try it, take sometime off.

P.s I apologise i don't have pictures to share. Its hard because my phone got corrupted by a virus.

This is written for the look what steemit made me do writing contest by @mermaidvampire. Such a cool username. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Isn't it wierd enough.
It should be weird instead of wierd.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Congratulations!,@cheekah Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot

We invite you to the @eoscafe community [https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE]

Loading...

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47