Mindbender - "Into the unknown" submission for steemitjam

in #steemitjamsubmission6 years ago (edited)

The theme is into the unknown, and I initially had a storytelling idea, which I will cover later this week with a postmortem. I found out I could not do it on this busy weekend, and open to make a maze.

Before you read any further, I recommend you give it a go!

Mindbender on itch.io

You'll soon find that this is no regular maze, it is in fact a non-euclidean maze. I could have made this far crazier, but decided to keep some rigid rules to keep it from being too bendy.
Every room can be connected up down left and right, and the connection is always to the opposite of the other room, so one room's left can only connect to another room's right.

Into the unknown

The theme can be interpreted in many ways, and for non-euclidean is unknown. Exploring a maze is unknown.

This is barely a game, I know, but it's a fun little puzzle. Especially if you get a really hard maze. I'll talk more about hard vs easy mazes in my post mortem.

As always, we need source code, so here it is:
https://github.com/poeticmatter/mindbender

If you play it, leave a comment with the largest maze you've managed to beat.

Sort:  

Like the idea. Reminds me a bit of the bendy ways you could travel with portals :)

So you made it by yourself? Wow! At first I thought it was easy, but I can't hit more than 27 points. I guess I need to find a better strategy rather than just walking around. :D

You have to find the pockets that are only accessible from 2 paces and make sure to go through them.

You definetly nailed the theme haha! I had no idea where I was going most of the time, but I might just be too stupid lol... I did win once though :) Definetly an enjoyable game - kudos! Might be a stupid question: but what were the numbers about?

The numbers are a trail of movement, they count how many steps you've taken without crossing the same room. When you go back into a room with a number, the path resets to that number.

Oh okay - makes sense. :)

well nice post thanks for sharing

usually non-euclidean is crazy enough for most players! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43