Sailing on the Seven Seas : SteemitJam #2 "Into The unknown" 24 hours left! Got some progress done! But a lot to do left...

in #steemitjam6 years ago (edited)

The SteemitJam is a 72 hours game creation event. At the time I am writing this, we are almost 50 hours in. Unfortunately, on the first day, I could not do much due to being unavailable, but today I managed to get some good progress. You can learn more about SteemitJam here

Sailing on the Seven Seas

My entry is quite ambitious and hopefully I will have enough time to polish it before the deadline! In 'Sailing in the Seven Seas' (Current title, may be temporary), you are controlling two crewmen and must defend your vessel from the sea monsters! Unfortunately, due to intense fog, the only way of seeing the surrounding dangers is by climbing a man up the mast.

Selection_290.png

Loading a cannon

To load a cannon you need to do these steps :

  • Pick up ammo
  • Bring ammo to cannon
  • Insert ammo in cannon
  • Pick up rammer
  • Bring rammer to cannon
  • Push down the cannonballs with the rammer
  • Deposit rammer tool
  • Fire

This process takes at least 10 seconds, it's even longer if you don't use your two men to load the cannon.

Spyglass Mode (Only when a man is on the mast)

Monsters such as Sea Serpents or the infamous Kraken may appear, so you should always prepare accordingly. You can only go in Spyglass mode (picture below related) if a crewman is up the mast.
Selection_291.png

Planned for tomorrow

Right now there is no death system (losing condition) and the wheel to steer the boat has no use. I would like to implement an obstacle (such as rocks) system where the player must steer, but I doubt I will have enough time to do that... I want to implement music and sounds as well. This will either be really tight, unpolished or features will be cut :/

Sort:  

i like your new deadline of 72 hours. it should give more time for people to create quality games. keep up the work man. i'm sorry i have too many things right now like learning python and creating a game with a language that i'm not used to. but i wish you luck. i'll join again when my time is right.

I really can't wait to manage my pirates in an epic quest against the sea!
The art really has come a long way already - looks great! :) Can't say too much about the gameplay though, as I haven't had the chance to play it yet. But I do like that you don't make shooting too easy for the player. I can imagine the hectic loading when a sea monster approaches!

A very interesting story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46