You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Strategy - Your "Quality" Content Isn't Valuable

in #steemithelp6 years ago

Once I kinda sorta started to understand Steemit, I developed thinking aligned with this post.

  • But then I sort of started to evolve to the other side after being convinced bots are bad, getting to know people through comments and curating will make you more money in the long run, yada yada yada. That may be true once you get your voting power built up, but as a newbie who didn't buy in that strategy ended up spinning my wheels.
    • but the back of my mind still was thinking along the lines of what you posted here. I mean the #1 rep guy is making a small fortune doing some of the things you talk about in this post along with circle jerk from high SP benefactors.
  • I even have done a couple of articles showing that using bid bots
    WAIT WAIT WAIT
    I'll not bore you with how my thinking has been evolving on the 82 days I've been here on Steemit.

I'll boil it down to 2 questions...

  1. Is there a community of (I'll use the term) entrepreneurs like you here on Steemit I could get involved with?
  2. (I'm from North Central MO) How's that KC BBQ treating you in Russia?
    (I must spend some time going through your posts to see how that all happened in your life!)
Sort:  

Thanks for commenting and raising some great questions. We are much better off if we don't pay attention to how much others are making. Rather, we should see if their methods have value to us. Of course, rich friends support each other and so do poor friends. There is some logic in the belief that if we grow together then we will still support each other when we have more resources to do so. This works out well for many people.

Using bid bots can be profitable, but not in the way most people think and the difference between Steem and SBD price is a huge issue where this is concerned. I will be posting some stuff on my results soon.

Here are some communities that you might enjoy. @qurator is my favorite. They don't sugar coat their program with rainbows and unicorns BS, but they do help and their members are growing their accounts (this is a fact and not just conjecture). Another group that seems to work really well together is @asapers, but I have less time to interact there with my #payitforward responsibilities. @yallapapi has a Discord called Shark School that I think is full of great information from some very sharp people. Unfortunately like everywhere on Steemit, you have to weed through those that are full of shit and those that have some valuable insights, but @yallapapi is a truth teller and I like him despite some obvious flaws. You may like @steemgreetersguild also. Many of friends here are very involved with it from a curation standpoint.

Great to know you're from North Central MO! I spoke at the community college up there (North Central MO College) in Trenton several times about 8 years ago. Nice place with good people.

People here love the American BBQ recipes and food that I share with them. I use mostly KC style cooking, but I have some Southeastern and Texas recipes that I throw in. We have a lot of fun with the project and it looks like it will start making a net return soon. We will see.

Thanks again for commenting and I hope to see more of your comments soon.

22 miles north of Trenton is Princeton. I'm the water/wastewater plant guy there.
15 miles west of Princeton is where I live. I'm 5th generation on a very small farm homesteaded from the government around 1860. You mentioned the homesteaders group here on Steemit. Yes, they are great!

I recently joined qurator. I will check out the others you mention.
I really need to figure out discord...
I like the people I've kind of gravitated too, but man, they had me feeling guilty for upvoting my own content or using an upvote service of any kind. Yet, many also applaud qurator, which has it's own upvote bot. And how are you ever going to be able to join their service (4 Steem now) without using tactics to get yourself built up? But then I recently realized something. Several bought in and at least one was delegated very early on. Some of their logic is flawed. I believe everyone's first goal should be to get at least a 2 cent vote and do whatever it takes to get there as quickly as possible, as long as you do it without breaking any rules. And I'm not talking about some madeup rules some people come up with (like those who say self-voting is unethical...).

I've started looking through your posts and am liking what I see.
BTW I was Utility Superintendent over at Rock Port, MO where they have wind turbines hooked directly to their city distribution system. I'll be commenting on that alternative energy post you did.

How could someone NOT like KC BBQ?!?!? haha
Very cool that you took it to Russia.

Thanks for actually discussing your ideas. There are a lot of people who toss out ideas, but don't actually discuss with their commenters. I think that's a key here on Steemit. I look forward to digging down through your posts, reading new ones and discussing ideas with you down the road...

Discussing things is my pleasure. That's why I like Steemit as a platform. It doesn't always happen, but when it does it is usually good stuff. Good to hear from someone from Mizzourah! Getting to the .02 vote is so important. 500 SP is the most important though for the vote slider. Also, check out the post by @thedarkhorse on "Voting Dust". It sheds some serious light on minnow voting. Talk to you soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63