You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Strategy - Your "Quality" Content Isn't Valuable

in #steemithelp6 years ago

Struggling on this one:

Post about your chosen specialty everyday or 4 to 5 times a week? If you can't, then you're not likely an expert on the topic.

Writing a post for a stranger is quite different from applying expertise in person. It takes time that I currently delegate to things with a better or more immediate return, like my job and family. Obviously I need to decide whether I'm fine with the results I'm getting or whether I want to change how I delegate my time. But not keeping up that frequency is definitely not a function of expertise in my field.

Oddly, I've been hesitant to even write on the topic I had planned to focus on. It's like I don't want to commit myself to something that I will be driven to write about daily.

Good piece, and thanks for this:

Can you make money outside of Steemit based on your activities IN Steemit?

That's the direction I'd really like to go.

Sort:  

You are pure gold @wholeself-in! Thanks so much for your comment. Of course, you can't spend so much time on Steemit and either can most people because we have lives that generate more overall utility in returns than spending hours on Steemit. There is no way I would have considered blogging daily when I was a parent. Not because I didn't have good things to post, but because the overall utility was less valuable than being around my children and raising them. Lucky for me, mine are all grown.

Unfortunately, many people think they can make a ton of money here by investing 30 minutes a day on something that isn't very interesting and that some benevolent whale is going to come by and give them 100 STU for their picture of a sunset. If they were full-time Steemians, it would still be difficult without investing in the platform.

Side note - I truly believe in investing in the platform because it has more utility than most cryptocurrency.

Last note and you hit it on the head. Can you use Steemit to show your expertise to potential customers outside of Steemit? That is the real ticket here. If you figure that out, you are golden. Of course, I would love to help in any way possible and look forward to hearing more from you.

All the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59400.36
ETH 2498.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47