Questions about Steemit - help please??

I am new to the platform. I have a few questions I was hoping some of you who are not so new could help me with.

Under my name there is a small number with a circle around it. What is that? When I first signed up the number was 25. I have made 3 posts and now the number is a 37.

One of my posts has 4 comments. I am unable to see the comments now. I was able to see them at first, and one of the comments was from some robot notifier something or other saying that my post is very similar to another post- it seemed to be accusing me of plagiarizing. There was some plagiarizing going on, but the other article had copied and pasted MY article from my website www.VicturusLibertas.com. I own that website and my husband and I are the writers of all articles on that site. I had put one of my articles on Steemit. I replied to the robot thingie saying that I am the owner of VL and the article is mine- I'm the original author, blah... blah... blah... and after that, I could no longer see the comments at the bottom of my post.

Could someone tell me the difference between a post and blog? I know that sounds stupid, but is one actually different from the other? Does one get more exposure? Easier to post to? Etc?

This also may sound stupid, but when I direct my followers on facebook and on my website to come here to follow me on Steemit, do I tell them my name is @vicuturuslibertas? Can they find me like that, or do I need a whole link?

Ugh! I guess that's all the stupid questions I want to plague you with for now, but I reserve the right to ask more stupid questions until I figure out what all this is about! :)

Thank you for your patience with me!

Sort:  

The little number in the circle is your reputation score. This essentially lets other users know how much of a contribution you've made to the community, how many followers you have, how active your posts are, etc. It's a ranking system. The more engaged you are, and the more people engage with you, the higher your score, and in general terms the greater return you can expect from your posts.

As for @cheetah, it is a fraud detection bot. I'm not quite sure how it works yet, since I haven't had a run-in with it, but I've seen others use the !whitesheet command (I think) on behalf of the users being questioned.

As far as your blog and posts are concerned, your blog is a collection of your generated content. Any stories you submit will be displayed under your Blog. The Posts tab, on the other hand, includes both your blog posts and any replies or comments you've posted as well.

For your users on Facebook, direct them to the entire link (https://steemit.com/@yourusername). That will take them to your account page, where they can see your posts and blog, and where they can find the Follow button in the upper right hand corner.

Hope that helps. :) Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you so much! You made it so much easier to understand!

My pleasure! I'm extremely excited about this platform, and I'm publishing artocles and original work for the first time, so if i can pay forward the goodwill I've experienced, I'm happy to do it. :)

I am following you. I look forward to your articles!

Hi, and welcome. I'll try to help out. First, the number is a reputation score. It is different from the amount of steem power you have. Higher is better, and it's on a logarithmic scale, which means it's easier to go from 20 to 30 than it is from 30 to 40, and so on. You increase (or decrease) your reputation score by getting upvotes or downvotes from people. People with high reputation scores and steem power can affect your reputation score more than those with low steem power or low reputations. This is a way to filter spam content. The reason those comments have disappeared is probably because they were from spam accounts, and with the new reputation score they are being hidden.

On steemit.com, there are posts and comments. Comments are replies to posts and do not show up in the main feed. A blog is kind of just a common term for a place where someone regularly posts. You might consider your personal website a blog if you regularly post things there. You might also consider steemit.com to be a place where you blog (it can also be a verb).

In order for someone to find and follow you, all they need is your username "vicuturuslibertas". You can directly lookup any user by just typing https://steemit.com/@username
Hope that helps.

Thank you so much for taking the time to explain this to me! It was a big help :)

Hope this helps:

  1. The number in the circle is your reputation rating. The more people upvote you the greater the number
  2. Comments from 'bots' automated spam robots are suppressed. You can 'unhide' them but really don't want to. They just make the same comments on every post.
  3. The system has checks to see if your content is already posted on the Internet. It can give you a warning if it sees that. The community strongly desires original content (not exact copy from other sites). Instead, add your comments or thoughts, or expand on your original post.
  4. In reply's to blogs/posts, there is only 4 levels down (I think it is 4) per response.
  5. Blog and Story are the same. A post is a reply to a blog/story (like what i am doing now - I am writing a post to your blog)
  6. Your steemit account would be https://steemit.com/@victuruslibertas

Hope this helps.

Thank you mrosenquist! I appreciate all the time you took explaining it to me and in such simple terms. This helped a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59415.56
ETH 2593.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47