You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit User Manual for New People - hope this helps [Sept 3rd 2016]

in #steemithelp8 years ago

Great tutorial though I would encourage not only the learning of markdown but also basic HTML. It can sometimes be more useful, such as putting images in your post with the 3W standard of including an 'alt="" ' tag within the 'img' tag. It could help with search engines such as google and yahoo in the future.

Sort:  

I agree. I hadn't considered using the alt tag. I use html for most of my post. The only markdown I use is for bold, italic, and such as the html equivalents of those don't work.

Otherwise, personally I am almost 100% HTML on all of my formatting. However, there is a guide on the editor Styling With Markdown and since this was intended to target new users I figured I'd start there. Also the guide would be really long if I put in all the things I could have added, and I've noticed some people do not read long things. (the damned world of the TL;DR <- I hate that phrase by the way). So I figure myself or others can make like Journeyman level tutorials for after the person is here and already posting.

Thanks for the comment.

I will say the

<'b></b'>
&
<'strong></strong'>

tags do work (remove the single quotes) and instead of using,

<'i></i'>

try using

<'em></em'>

there are many others that do work now that didn't when I first started here only a few weeks ago, such as the superscript and strike-through tags. I hope they update it to use more.
And your welcome it's always nice to get some constructive feedback, positive or negative.
**
Correction the strike tag doesn't work I used in-line CSS to do it, but you can also use

<'del> </del'>

for strikeout

Hmmm... they didn't work last time I tried it... probably in July. I was using <'b></b'> and it had no effect. Without the single quotes of course. Perhaps they've added more functionality and support?

how long before the editor is improved to WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) I wonder?

Probably not until they make a full release, you have to keep in mind this is all still in beta and made by programmers who have been using HTML and markdown for years so more than likely it just felt natural to them to make it this way, but the editor has come a long way since the beginning and is constantly being worked on.

That's RIGHT. It's still beta. I keep forgetting that.

Lol, Sometimes its good to get a reminder. I will say I can't wait to see what they have in store for the full release.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62404.06
ETH 2426.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65