My Homemade Salsa

in #steemitfoods3 years ago

Photo02170638 (2).jpg

This winter I have enjoying making homemade salsa from the tomatoes and hot peppers I grew and canned last summer. I finally ran out of hot peppers between my kids loving hot peppers and myself liking to make my own salsa. I ran out of the diced tomatoes I canned so I opted to use a can of store bought diced tomatoes and jarred jalapeno peppers. It seemed lacking from what I had become acquainted with. When I canned the peppers I used jalapeno, serrano and banana peppers. Most people probably wouldn't have thrown in the banana peppers but I had tons of them. They were suppose to be red peppers that my grand kids had started but I figured the manufacturer must have put the wrong peppers in the packs, to be honest I really didn't know what a banana pepper was, never have had a reason to use them before. I used a pickling recipe and canned some of them by themselves at first. After tasting them I decided that was the peculiar taste one often gets eating a Chicago dog or that they'd dress up chili pretty good. They might even add quite a splash to goulash. I decided my lack in taste for my homemade salsa must be hidden in finding some pickled banana peppers since it had such a unique taste to them.

My last shopping trip I sat out to find pickled banana peppers. I couldn't find any but in the Mexican food section I came across pickled jalapeno peppers and pickled serrano peppers in a can. I bought one can of each, I already had plenty of store bought can tomatoes from the impeding "epidemic" stockpile from the beginning of last year. I had a variety of those so I opted to use ones canned with sweet onions. To give it some depth I also decided to use a jar of stewed tomatoes I made during canning last fall. When I tried making it with just store bought canned diced tomatoes it just seemed different than my own canned diced tomatoes. I wanted more of a little chunks of tomato taste along with a tomato like consistency base. The whole trick I found was it was in the pickling of the peppers and adding some of the pickling juice and letting it sit for a day or two. The more it sat the better the flavors infused and turned into the salsa I had become accustom to all winter.

The pickled cans of peppers I bought were more than I needed to get to the level of hot that I could tolerate so how many you opt to use during this process would be determined upon on hot you like your salsa. I used about half of the cans of each. This is what you will need to make the salsa.

1 8 oz can of pickled jalapeno peppers (dice up the amount to your own preference)
1 8 oz can of pickled serrano peppers (dice up the amount to your own preference)
1/2 cup diced white onion
1 12 ounce can diced tomatoes (drained but save some of the juice)
1 12 ounce can stewed tomatoes (drained, you may want to dice up a bit, the object is to make a heftier tomato base)
1 bunch of fresh cilantro (the amount you use will be determined by your own preference)
1 bag of your favorite tortilla chips

After mixing in all your ingredients you can add about a quarter cup of the tomato juice left from your can tomatoes then pour in anywhere from a quarter to half a cup of the pickling juice. Just enough to give the ingredients something to swim around in, to much it would be to runny. At first I only added about a quarter cup of the pickling juice then did a taste test, I added a bit more until I got the desired taste consistency I wanted.

The longer the salsa sits the more the flavors marry and the salsa seems to get spicier. You can also take your leftover cilantro, cover it between a couple paper towels and let it dry out for a few days, remove the stems then jar and put it in your pantry to use with your other cooking dishes.

Sort:  

Sounds good except I don't like hot peppers. lol

They had a cafeteria where I worked once. Thursdays was the day they had chili as the soup of the day. I'd always get it and then packed the top with jalapenos. The Spanish women came in because they heard I topped my chili with peppers and they didn't believe someone could eat that many peppers at one time. Always loved hot spicy food, then it started giving me terrible heartburn so I gave it up. Once in awhile I'd sneak a bite or two, and it didn't bother me so bad, so I snuck some more, still nothing....then I started wondering if it had something to do with me having my gall bladder removed...maybe I could tolerate it again. Now I am back to full tilt.

Your payout makes me jealous. I powered up after I upvoted myself. lol

Do you want to work food service again? You can make at least $13 an hour.

Nah, if you mean working for a restaurant. That'd be like going back to teen years. If you mean delivering food I thought about that when my sister was doing it, then the thought of all those years I was harassed endlessly by come of these young kids in these colleges houses and that thought diminished quickly....I can just see giving them a avenue to send me on wild goose chases, no thanks.

How did they harass you? #canofworms lol

I want to own a restaurant.

I know you think you are funny, smart ass. lol. I'll try my best to condense a 32 oz can of worms into 8 oz.

I stood up for my right to be able to park in front of my house, I wasn't breaking the city ordinance on the number of people one could have living in a house and I wasn't about to park a block away to gain access to my house. I am the only house on the street without a driveway. Now I just solve the issue and the issue of them being drunk and hitting cars, (which they got mine twice) by parking on my grass. I also, when I owned my salon, I called the cops on them over racial fights in the parking lots of the bars. One time they even went as far as to shoot at one of them then told the cops that person shot at them leading to a wild goose chase by the cops to find the guy while the shooter was sitting in the bar, that bullet happened to have hit my salon.

I am surrounded by college houses, that would be a double literally, literally, by dozens, over 140 in my immediate neighborhood at last count, they bombarded me with fireworks day and night then they text each other when the cops were coming, the cops thought I was crazy because when they got here nothing was happening. I spent years going to the city over it, even took witnesses but because of the cops nothing ever got done about it. Finally I took my lap top down to the city and begged the mayor to look at the evidence himself. He said he'd call me but he never did, I went back down there and he said his attorney advised him not to watch the video. I was in near tears. I don't know what exactly it was he did do but it finally came to a halt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98