Is being a NURSE in the Philippines a death wish? | Life Blog #1




Oh? So you're a nurse?


Yes, I am a NURSE and I'm proud of it.

I was a Renal Nurse before I resigned from my hospital work almost 2 years ago taking my great leap and chance for a greener pasture, that is grabbing the opportunity of working abroad. In the Philippines, it has always been a trend for the last couple of years to have an increase of turnover of nurses due to worsening nurse - patient ratio, excessive workload and yes! The salary from an unreasonable to average range of pay, which is why I decided to pursue my application abroad.


Imagine the number of patients a nurse of one to three handles per shift

Originally, I wanted to be an architect but during the time I graduated from high school, there was a dramatic increase of demand for nurses abroad thus making me decide to take an entrance exam,(which was by the way free because it was of the same school I graduated from secondary school and a little persuasion from my relatives and mom.) Luckily, I passed the test and the interview so I got in. I went through countless hours of making nursing care plans, drug studies, case studies and burning the midnight oil just to finish the degree and indeed, I conquered it all. Over the course of time, I learned to love the noble profession and it's ways in touching other people's lives.

Being a nurse in the Philippines is easy.


No. It's not.

As I graduated college and passed the board exams, I thought working was uncomplicated but it never was. It felt like I was thrown into a battle, unarmed. During my first year of working, I could spend all my 8 hours attending to all my patient's needs and even their significant others, giving their medications and checking their intravenous lines, and I also had to deal with the doctors without giving attention to my physiological needs (eg. urinating, eating, or even drinking water just to make it through the day.) Yes, I got drained and really felt burned out but over the course of time, I learned to manage my time efficiently and my physiological needs? I was able to sort it out.


This was my table with my patient's charts, 2012.

Working my ass out would never be effortless without the help of my senior nurses. They taught me a lot that they even scolded me whenever I cannot eat during lunch time and when I can't finish everything in an 8-hour shift. They have become my inspiration because I have seen that they were eager in imparting me all that they know that I didn't and that I got them when I needed them. They made my journey worth the while and no matter how toxic (the term we use when we're so busy at work) we were, we tried to make things light and bearable by dining out after work or find some time to bond with each other. (I miss those times.)


These were my senior nurses who really helped me a lot. I'm the one with the mask.


This was taken last 2013 for our station's Christmas Party, one of the times we got to hang with each other.

When you're a nurse in the Philippines, it really ain't easy. You have to deal with a lot of things, emotionally, physically and mentally however, when my patient's thank me or appreciate what I am doing for them, my heart flatters and feel like all my long hours of labor finally paid off and that I'm doing well in this profession. I love to see the smiles of my patients whenever they pass through our nurses' station because they're discharged from the hospital and the gifts, especially food (it's a bonus for us nurses to feel loved by our patients) makes us feel contented that we served them right.

So, when the time comes that you feel ill and sick and found yourself lying in the hospital bed for days, please do understand what we nurses are going through, and most definitely, don't forget to thank them for taking good care of you which will only take a few seconds.

Yes. I am a NURSE and I'm proud of it.

Sort:  

Hello there Ohana! You were featured on the #67th edition of steemitfamilyph's featured posts. Congratulations!

Thank you for the feature! It's a great help for a newbie like me. You guys are really living up to the essence of Ohana. Much Love. ❤

Hello colleague! Hugs. ☺️

Hello @imje! you experienced the same thing too? 🤔

Sure. You’re not a hosp nurse if you haven’t. Aye? 😀

Being a nurse is a noble profession! Keep up the good work both of you. The world nee more people like you!

Thank you @culgin. It really is not an easy profession but is rewarding knowing you were able to help other people. ❤

Hi @kyanzieuno... Nice seeing u here.. Sa slothicorn pa tlga kita unang na meet eh pareho pla tayo nsa steemitfamilyph... Hehe

Hello @ediah! Hmmm Should I call you ate? hehe. Still exploring pa din kasi ako with steemit and how it works. plan ko din to post soon sa slothicorn. :)

Yes of course you can call me Ate.. Pinsan mo pala c jemmanuel sabi nya.. Madami na sya nahatak dito. Kugihan kaayo. Malingaw ra nya ka dri labaw nga mingaw dri Saudi..Hehe

Haha. yes te @ediah. Bilib gani ko kay grabe iyang pangombinse sa akoa tong niagi and nahappy ra pud ko kay sumhow, nalingaw na pud ko ani. Mas ginatan.aw pa ni nako karun kesa sa akoang facebook. Naa ra diay ko Gensan te. pero puhon², larga pud ko abroad. 😊

Ah abi nako saudi sad ka..hihi..kami kay manguli na sad mi. Have fun dri steemit... See u around!

Relate muchoo. hehehe. I am also proud to be called, A LADY in WHITE. 😊

Wow! Hello @noreen! It's good to know you're also a nightingale and shared this post as to some people don't truly understand our field. I loved your Golden hour post tho! It was really an eyeopener. ❤

Thank You for appreciating the article. I am always happy to meet a fellow Nightingale here at steemit. Daghan na ta.😊

You're a hero!

Thank you @milayosawa! Glad to be of service to other people. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65975.42
ETH 3308.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69