The Trials of Introverted ParentingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitfamily7 years ago

Before I start, lets just be clear: I love my Lil' Pinner! There is absolutely nothing greater than this gig called parenthood, and I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world. If it wasn't for being a parent, I wouldn't have had the privilege of hearing her exclaim "Look Daddy, Chocolate Eggs!"

This, while we were walking through the refrigerated section of the grocery store today.

But...

I'm an introvert. And not just a bit of an introvert. I'm one of those introverts who gets tired out by being in big crowds, who goes out to eat by himself just for the simple pleasure of being alone in a crowd, and who most definitely needs solo time to be at my best.

These are not attributes that work well with being the parent of an energetic and excited preschooler. I have my limits for being a jungle gym, slide, or climbing wall. I love playing with her, but how do you explain to a 4 year-old that you're "peopled out".

Thankfully, @prairiepinner has my back in those moments and intervenes when she sees me reaching my limits. Even though I know it drives her, as a much more extroverted person, nuts; she understands my eccentricities and helps keep me centered.

So, I extend my tolerance and work hard to engage with the Lil' Pinner, even when I'm peopled out and wishing I could get a break. I hope I'm doing okay...There's nothing worse than seeing the smile disappear off this face.

Sort:  

This post received a 10% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

I'm not really an introvert, but breaks are definitely crucial. Love my kids to the moon and back, but I cant be with them all the time!

I get you! She is an only child so she inhabits an adult world far too often. It breaks my heart to not want to play with her but you are right that you can't be with them all the time!

I think it's really important to be honest, though. I mean, of course sometimes we just do it, even when we don't really want to, out of love, but I think it's important for them to see authentic yeses and no's so they learn to draw their own boundaries later. They learn saying no doesn't mean a rejection. They learn it means loving and caring for yourself too. It's definitely a habit you want to instill!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64