You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem School Episode 70 - 30% Posting and 70% Networking?

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

Great post.

The best thing about commenting for me is the fact that you can really be yourself. You don't have to dick around with fancy graphics thinking I want people to love me. You just write what you think and go. What constrains you? Your typing speed, your speed of thought, your use of English (if writing in English), your knowledge of the subject? But it's so easy to rattle off a comment or two. Before breakfast, even! :D

Obviously, your comments mustn't be short generic crap - you'll get steem cleaners on your case (rightfully so). And they mustn't be too nasty, too often. In a perfect world, they'd always be positive and 'nice' but I think we all know it's not a perfect world. So, occasionally you have to disagree with arses (and let them know it). Either way, they really don't have to be perfect. A few small mistakes / faux pas are forgivable. Just beware screwing up big time (but that goes for posts, too). Blowing your foot off, reputation-wise, is never a good idea.

Thinking up new material to post can be such a ball-ache. You have news / current affairs for new stuff all the time I suppose (but others will be commenting on that) but it is tough to be original. So, when someone pulls it off and does something original that you approve of, they've done the hard part for you. You can add to their post. Improve it, even, without being silly here, of course, just by helping the conversation take off. Adding fuel to the fire that is Steemit! ;)

I'm guessing I'm on about 1% posts, 99% comments, partly because I'm a little lazy but largely because I agree with your comments on networking which I've noted elsewhere in the past.

When I have enough followers (and good comments on the blogs of distinguished ;) posters certainly should help here as you do say, yourself) that's probably when I'll go into overdrive posting my treatise on beetles. There's thought to be a million species of them and they can't be too difficult to photograph. Not that I'll be hunting every species down.

Now to read the other comments. It'd be wrong not to....

Sort:  

Some nice gems in your comment Zool, the comments of the people of my posts get better and better and I am proud of that, you are doing better than me in that regard.

Not upvoting comments like yours makes me feel like an ass. You guys are comment Vikings, coming to my blog to pillage upvotes.

Glad to read that you are honest too, having honest people around is awesome because they give you good feedback.

Thanks for the compliments and I guess we all play the game, don't we? ;)

We do & it is a love-hate relationship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67009.65
ETH 2602.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67