You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Elementary School Is Setting Students Up To Fail At Math

I didn't have kids for so many reasons, but this is one of them, the common core is a detriment to society. It's a methodology of inaccuracy. I would have done great in this system yet I still think it to be dumbing down society. With numbers, there is a right answer.

I never liked formulas and always amazed the teachers that I could logically come up with nearly the right answer, most of the time. But that only gets the student a B.

Sort:  

The first time I saw common core was for simple subtraction problems and my brain had to take a long time to process because it was just over complicated. For people who aren't naturally good at math it can really confuse and hurt students academically. I think that a person should do math the best way for them. If common core works better for some people then go for it...but if the old methods like how I was taught are better for you to comprehend then you should be allowed to use that way instead.

My limited exposure to Common Core made me think it was a wrong way of thinking. If the lower school math confuses the parents, it probably isn't the best idea. Further breaks the family. Parents can't even engage in the homework.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47