You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Neuroplasticity: How to deal with Anxiety Disorders Like Panic Attacks

Thanks for writing about anxiety. I have small bouts with it and have lost the ability to drive on a highway and not certain that i'll ever get on a plane again. It is far too easy for those that aren't challenged by anxiety to laugh it off or tell you to "Get over it"

Sort:  

Dear @wakeupsheeps, I know what you have been going through. When I had my first panic attack while driving, which was decades ago, I literally had such terror that I probably fed more into my panic. I also wasn't able to drive on the freeway and it got worse to where just being behind the wheel was challenging. I ended up in the emergency room twice. Those were some of the worst days of my life. Just wanted to let you know that you are not alone and just know that eventually you will slowly recover. I am back to driving on the highway and haven't has another attack for a very long time.

With this new journey into Neuroplasticity, I feel there is hope for sufferers of panic disorder and other anxieties. As for those who are not sensitive to your situation, just know that unfortunately, as long as they never experience it, they will never know the true sheer terror of it. Maybe you should tell them to read actual articles of what people go through.

I appreciate your comments and hope this series of articles will help you and others. My mission is to educate because knowledge is so powerful. Take care @wakeupsheeps! :D

@cabbagepatch, I honestly didn't know what fear was until I went skydiving, like the gyroscope in my head was thrown off line after that event. It slowly got worse, to the point that coworkers drove me home from work one day because I couldn't face the drive by myself.

I've made do using secondary roads and occasionally steeling myself enough to get on the highway, but I can't hold 60mph in a car, 50 is about all I can muster. I will read through the rest of your articles. Thanks for writing them.

@wakeupsheeps it is so unbelievable how after skydiving your trouble began. I guess fear must have been great enough to trigger that response. They say that it takes something big to trigger that threshold that sets panic in motion. But don't give up. They are trying new ways to get people better. We somehow have to put fear in its place.

Again, @wakeupsheeps, I am so touched by your willingness to share. It is such a wonderful feeling of friendship. Please take care and again, thank-you for sharing and supporting!!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89