Steem School EP 30 - How to Render a Video for DTube and Dramatically Decrease the Video Size

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Did you know that you can reduce the video file size by over 50%? It is absolutely possible with Handbrake!

I will also show you the format which is required to upload a DTube video (at least in my format).
 
V8 Separator.png

Rendering a Video for DTube

I use Filmora by Wondershare to edit my DTube videos which I record with an XSplit premium license (which you can get for 1 year for $2 on Kinguin).

When I render my videos I select the MP4 format. I use the resolution 1280x720 because that is the resolution my videos are originally recorded in.

I use the encoder H.264, 29.97 FPS, and a bitrate of 5000 kbps. I change nothing of the audio settings and finally render the video.

Render Options.jpg
 
V8 Separator.png

Reducing the Video Size

To reduce the video by over 50% you have to download and instal a software called "Handbrake" (Download).

After installing it you right click on your file and open it with Handbrake.

1. Click on browse and select the location where you want to save the file and give it a name.
2. Select Fast720p30 from the "Presets" on the right.
3. Select Width 1280 & Height 720
4. Now click on "Start Encode" and you are done.

Handbrake options.jpg
 
V8 Separator.png

Conclusion

Render the video in the formats given, use handbrake and your video will not only work on DTube but they will also be optimized to be uploaded faster.

Further reading & video: The Ultimate DTube Guide for Beginners & Pros

 
V8 Separator.png

Get More & Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower

Convert your Bitcoin to EUR/USD (Europe): Wirex

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V8 Separator.png

Stats.jpg

V8 Separator.png

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Going to bookmark this for when I need to use a video-editor. Currently, the output formats of OBS are sufficiently small for my needs.

Thanks for releasing these guides regularly!

You saved my life with this one!!

Glad that you like it. 👍

Helped to get my first gaming video up. went from 20GB to 2GB doing exactly what you said. Thanks again!

YAAASSSSSS! Thank you for breaking it down for those of us who aren't sure where or how to start figuring this out!

Now you just need to create awesome videos with awesome text and gather those juicy DTube upvotes.

Precisely! I'll keep you posted ;)

Hey thank you so much for doing this video this helps me alot philip. Im going to be uploading my first video soon now thanks to you teaching me this.

Maybe you get a DTube upvote, good luck.

Xsplit Premium license for $2 really is a snack when you consider that it usually costs $100 and that it is a really good recording program with constant updates.

Just curious, where can i grab a xsplit premium license for 2$ or is the deal done now

Thank you.

Nice dtube, amazing post, thanks for sharing

nice vlog @valorforfreedom
thank you for sharing

I still can't get over your profile picture, lmao.

thanks very helpfull tuto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66