Steem School EP 12 - The Advanced Steemit Tag Guide to Increase Your Views and $$$

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

V8 Separator.png

This is the advanced Steemit tag guide to maximize the visibility and payout of your posts!

Tags are words that you can add below your post and your posts will then be shown in those tags. Depending on the tag and on the total payout of your post it will then be in new, hot or trending of that tag.

That was a short explanation on how tags work and how the posts inside those tags are ordered.

You can increase the visibility & total payout of your post dramatically with the right tags & almost nobody does that!

They either choose the most popular tag (unrelated to their post) or they create a new tag that nobody has used before.

To see all the tags worth mentioning you just click on the 3 lines symbol on the top right corner of Steemit right to your profile picture and select "explore".

Here are the DO'S and DON'Ts of Steem tagging! (Screenshot of where the tags worth mentioning are below).

Screeny 1.jpg

V8 Separator.png

The DON'Ts

I start with the DON'Ts because everyone needs to know what not to do so that they can understand the DO's better.

So the first thing that you need to understand is that creating a new tag is only a good idea when you are the leader of a community and you tell everyone to use that tag for their post.

Like that the tag will become popular. So if you are not a leader of a large community it makes no sense to create a new tag.

Secondly, you don't want to use tags that nobody is using which is basically almost the same as creating a new one.

Thirdly you want to avoid tags with a high competition! And I say that because the higher the competition is, the harder it is to go into trending because you need a certain amount to be shown there.

On the Steemit tag, you won't be shown at the top of trending if you are below $500 and that number is increasing.

There are posts with a total payout of $2000 so avoid these famous tags. The screenshot below is from the trending section of the tag "Steemit".

Trending Section.jpg

V8 Separator.png

THE DO'S

Find tags that are related to your post who have low competition.

For example, an educative text or a tutorial about something would do really well in the tag #education, #tutorial or #howto.

That text would do well there because the competition is not that high there. In the #howto tag, I am in the trending section with a post that is just worth $100.

And I will stay there for a while (2-3 days) which is really awesome! And don't forget to use 5 tags!

Trending Howto.jpg

V8 Separator.png

In a Nutshell

THE DON'Ts
1. Don't invent new tags (unless you lead a large community).
2. Don't use tags that nobody uses.
3. Don't use the most popular tags unless you have the cash to promote your posts up to $500-$2000 and can afford losses.

THE DO'S
1. Use 5 tags.
2. Use tags related to your post.
3. Use low-competition tags where it is easier to get into trending!

Last step: Have fun seeing more views and upvotes on your posts!

Make it rain.jpg

V8 Separator.png

Get More & Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower

Convert your Bitcoin to EUR/USD (Europe): Wirex

Berserkers Discord Server: Discord

V8 Separator.png

Stats.jpg

V8 Separator.png

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Volume setting a little low today. The intro music came in fine, just your voice is low. Good information; I personally do not surf the tags, so I have skipped exploring that option both in my searches and my tags. Greetings!

My microphone was very weird today, it picked up every little sound, it was like I got a factory new version of it.

Checked the microphone settings and nothing changed.

I will use Audacity next time to do some editing on the original audiofile -> It will sound better then.

Thanks for the feedback.

In your editor there should be an audio effect called "normalize" and it will dynamically raise the volume levels; this prevents you from having to correct volume levels in a separate program. Audacity also has this effect in addition to " amplify", but "normalize" saves you time as amplify needs a manual input that may have to be changed if not right the first time. Hope this helps. Greetings!

That didn't help, I tried it.

Noise reduction didn't help either because I said something in the first 5 seconds.

Usually, I sit there and say nothing to record the room and computer noise, mark that & use noise reduction which reduces it dramatically.

Next time!

Strange. All my videos were recorded that way (levels at 10 - 15% to deal with 120db++) without exception; maybe there is something else going on. If it happens again you can send me the audio file via wetransfer(.)com to see if I can correct it for you. While that won't solve your issue it will eliminate certain possible causes to further diagnose what is happening.

Check out my new video Onno, problem solved.

Thanks for the offer by the way.

Great, and you're welcome! I'll check on the new one.

No problem, thanks for letting us know. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Yep, very low volume on your voice.

Nice post @valorforfreedom

I had most of this worked out except for the competition in the popular categories. That is a very good point and one which I will now implement.

I am guilty of using the highly competitive top tags. I will certainly be looking at the alternatives to get more visibility. I never thought of it in the way that you have explained, but it makes sense.

This are some great ideas... i need to be more careful when using tags, in my last post i used the tags "steem steemit bandwidth problem starting", guess i shouldn't have used steem or steemit since they are one of the top tags and my post would be swimming with the big fishes without getting noticed.
Thanks for the info my friend, ill be more thoughtful next time i create a post so i use tags that are medium in popularity

Thank you Teutonium.
Enjoy more views & bigger payouts.

That are good tips to improve the incoe with the right tags. I always write all appropriated tags down and than look, which one makes it the easiest to join the hot or trending section. That are the tags I would use

Sound advice @Valor. I didn't consider using a popular tag as being negative. But you are right for newbies to steem using popular tags is probably putting them/me at a disadvantage trying to compete with trending articles and members with high reputation.

I think when put into practice can help a lot. Thanks mate. Its really good to see your tips especially from a seasoned veteran.

MadMac

Thank you Tesla.

You're doing good man, keep up the good work and Full STEEM ahead!

Excellent piece of information buddy. Shall be useful for all steemitians. Regards Nainaz.
#thealliance

Thank you Nainaz.

but I like making up my own tags! My favorite one is #yesireallypostedthis 😇

But once again very sound advice to a person like me that 3 months ago have no idea what tags were for!

for that you get..........Spore_GIF_2018-01-28_00-08-36.gif

a high five and a smile 😁

Thank you Snooky.

By looking at your tags I see you lead by example. I was doing it all wrong. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83