Steem School Episode 62 - @Hopehuggs Best Tips to Increase Your Profits

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)


V8 Separator.png

In today's episode, I interviewed a long friend of mine called @hopehuggs on Steemit and her real name is Helen. I asked her what her best tips are to increase your profits on Steemit!

Listen/Read, Apply, be consistent & profit!
 
V8 Separator.png

@Hopehuggs 20 Tips to Increase Your $$$

1. Read posts on subjects that you’d like to write about, so you get to know others and their followers

2. Write decent comments when you come across posts you like and write at least 2 sentence answers that show that you have read it, agree, disagree, elaborate

3. Don’t spam or plagiarize, just create original stuff and don’t put links in comments.

4. A lot of your questions can be answered by the Steem FAQ, if you can find them in there, try steem.chat and discord, don’t be afraid to ask for help. We have all been there.

5. Network, join some discord communities and get to know people, mingle, make friends. These people could become your supporters and vice versa.

6. Watch out for opportunities and contests, where you can earn extra SBD, @moneyinfant has a great list of daily writing contests for example.

7. Write a curation (link to) some of your favorite posts (most helpful, best ones on philosophy), or expand further on one that you liked.

8. When you use tags, make sure you use tags that are used already, not brand new ones, as if you are new no-one will see your posts otherwise

9. Inject your personality into your posts, as genuine people attract more upvotes

10. Write how-to posts, that show people step by step how to do something, like crafts, something on Photoshop, art step by step etc.

11. Remember that it is not just Steemit that is based on steem, there are 48 other steem interfaces to try out: https://steemprojects.com

12. Command attention, by making your thumbnails count, so that they stand out in the feed and make your headlines eye catching so they draw the reader into your world.

13. There is such a thing as a markdown editor called MarkdownPad2, which will help you get your posts edited or markdown pro for Macs, which you can then copy paste over to Steemit, so you don’t have to be online to write.

14. Keep an ideas notebook, or file on your computer, so when something sparks you note it down, so you don’t forget it.

15. Keep learning every day about steem and looking for hints and tips that you share with your followers and friends.

16. STAY AWAY from Steemit politics, as getting in the middle of those can harm your earnings

17. DO NOT use STEEMIT for MARKETING or sales letters, Steemit is for good quality content and if you do this, you will be flagged or downvoted, which means you will lose your hard earned SBD

18. When you post on Steam, make the commitment and promise to yourself that you will get up one post a day, make the time for that each day, no excuses, so you get into the habit.

19. Take inspiration from people that are walking the talk on Steemit and reverse engineer what they are doing, listen to their advice

20. Don’t give up. It might not happen overnight, it probably won’t, but some people I know have been curied (got a nice big vote from @curie who are manual curators looking out for good articles) on their second post, they just happened to be in the right place at the right time, but it takes time to build up to a consistent income though.

Quote.jpg

V8 Separator.png

Vote to Increase my Witness Rank: Witness Vote

Get More & Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V8 Separator.png

Stats.jpg

V8 Separator.png

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Rainbow?! Miss me with that gay shit brah! (seriously though, for those who want to use and identify with that rainbow... that's your stuff... not my stuff)

Blue Bar.jpg

This is my blue patterned front image/thumbnail border. This is just the top section of it.

It has dark blue, light blue and white in it. Not only this, but it has a pattern that slashes through the picture. Check on my posts and you will see the thick white lines come through on the other side.

Bloodspatter bar.jpg

This is the border I use for submissions by @writers-edge for the interactive Zombie Survival writing competition. (Also featured by @moneyinfant on his contest curations).

This is just black and incorporates blood splatters which I placed at random using a blood splatter paintbrush pack I downloaded. It's maybe not the best for now. But I created it somewhere after a 12 hour shift just to make DocumentZ posts stand out that much more.

OK... that was me replying to your mention of me @valorforfreedom. Thank you for the mention and I am stoked that I have said something that would influence you!

I have thought about it and predominant RED is still going you be YOU. However to make it unique... You could add the valknut symbol like the one in your background to two diagonal corners of the border and then the Berzerker Bear on the other two diagonals. Then the border stay RED, but becomes more YOU.... or something like that. It is just an idea.

When I have a little bit of time I could even throw that together if you want?

Besides all this, thank you @hopehuggs for your hints and tips. I have another list to print and stick to my wall alongside the one I got from Thorben's list in one of the Steemit School posts.

Keep it real guys!

Those are good ideas Zak and I have already changed my thumbnail border on the latest posts after reading your advice.

I saw it change after I did this whole thing. Yeah the new border can work. Two colors with a transition. Red is what you already use and that tan color you have in your page dividers so also part of you usual package.

Correct! It is part of my branding.

When you mentioned @HopeHuggs, I immediately stopped to read because I got to steemit just by reading about her. These are great tips that I have followed, especially about making good comments. Within 2 weeks of being here, I got awarded by @steemitboard for most comment made. I made a post about this award and how it inspired me. Thanks to tips like these, I was able to do much within a short period. Thank you too @valorforfreedom

Same thing here @hopehuggs is the person who inspired me to become a steemian. Though I do not know her in person, I know she is definitely a great person. I love this post

Glad to read that.

Thank you!

@valorforfreedom I was introduced to Steemit by @HopeHuggs, and have been spending considerable time getting a hang of steemit, and the post pretty much sums up my findings on the best way to move forward. Soon it will be time for me to dive from commenting alone to posting. Thanks for the summary of "how to steemit" Cheers!

Glad you like it, time to start posting buddy!

personally, I feel for a newbie. Commenting should be a major tool to getting known in the community. I mean great, outstanding comments in respect to the topic and not just "nice post" or other forms of spamming.
After getting credible whales/dolphins attention, you should target making increasing posts with much consistency (at least one post per day) and you could get lucky. Making posts everyday is quite difficult especially for someone like me who easily run out of inspiration or topics to write on. The best solution to that is engaging in challenges or contest e.g the 100days of poetry challenge. Not for the sole aim of winning the sbd/steem but in order to improve yourself in writing and consistency.
Also taking advice from the big names in the game who are ready to help will go a long way.

I agree, before people come to your blog to read your post you have to get your name out there first with comments.

One should try to do both, write 1 great post per day and something like 20 great comments, that will make your blog more and more popular.

Joining Steem Discord communities like Steem Ramble is also important.

How can I get to join the steem ramble community???
I'd be glad if you help with a link

This is really valuable information. I love learning new things and have learned so much from you and @hopehuggs and a few other Steemit pros! I need to start writing down ideas for posts because I forget stuff all the time!

I was about to give you advice but you basically said it yourself.

It's difficult to get blocktraded or curied without consistency, sometimes people fail to put on hardwork on a daily basis and the end up not making good comments, how can they certainly earn?

They can certainly earn if they put the work in.
There are no hacks.

Well very true, Thank you for an amazing response

great advice. I hadn't thought of a few of them and will add them to my arsenal. It is hard to stay diligent here which is why I'm always so impressed by your dedication.

Thank you very much Closers.

thank you. You are the one doing all the work lol.

Indeed my friend.

Nice one! Got a few changing ideas already especially about thumbnails ;) thanks for that interview!

Glad you like it NEO.

Looks like I'm a latecomer, but thanks so much for the shout out. It's good to know I'm helping some people here on Steemit.

And you continue doing an amazing job. I'm humbled by your dedication.

Great Tips. A few I din´t know before. Thanks for that!!

Glad you liked the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42