There is time for everything

in #steemiteducation7 years ago


source

Becoming an entrepreneur is way too stressful on it's own, then doing it as a student is like carrying a buldozer on a wheelbarrow. It's way too stressful I must say.
As an engineering student, to be successful in your academic, commitment and dedication is required at the utmost. Venturing into business and trying to become an entrepreneur as a student is wonderful but like my uncle told me, business is good but doing it as a student can limit your academic performance.
I am a living proof of those words. I ventured into business during my 300l. Though I knew it was going to affect me academically, I still felt I would be able to cope because I saw myself as someone smart....lol
I started a laundry business as a student, where I also do pick up and deliveries. For those with a good knowledge of the business, you would know it's not easy. During exam period I still continued hoping I could meet up because like I said, I am smart. After my exams, I felt I wrote wonderfully well but when my results came out, it was the worst I have ever had my whole life. I messed up....

source

Even though the business was profitable for me and it helped me become financially self sufficient, i allowed it reduce my performance academically.
Thoughts started rolling in. Should I continue in the business and suffer my academics? Should I quit the business and focus on my academics? I found myself between 5 and 6. I didn't know what to do. I needed the money to sustain myself financially and take care of my academic needs.

image

Then one faithful day, A friend told me about steemit. I doubted initially but after a little conviction on his part, here I am today steeming. Even though I didnt quit the laundry business, my commitment reduced and I now have more time to study my books and write articles too for steemit.
My advice to students is this, Face your studies but if you want to venture into business, don't overwork yourself by taking on more non-academic related jobs. Your studies and grades are the reasons you are in school. Leave the strenuous and more commitment work to the non students. Like the saying goes THERE'S A TIME FOR EVERYTHING but that doesn't mean you should be dormant and relax because believe it or not, there's no job out there that's waiting for you. You have to be entrepreneurial in thinking but do it with COMMON SENSE. so that you can successfully kill two birds with one stone .
So if you really want to be an entrepreneur as a student, go for something online. Like blogging, internet marketing etc. Things that wont require your physical presence for it's sustainability or rather quit school and chase your dream as an entrepreneur.

source
The richest men out there didn't get their wealth by going to school. They did so by venturing into entrepreneuring. Some of them sacrificed their academic pursuits for their dreams. Bill gates, Mark Zuckerberg, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi but to name a few. Going to school isn't a guarantee for wealth and neither is not going to school.
The bottom line is that, know what you want and dont deceive yourself. If you want a future that's academically inclined, then focus but if not then venture into entrepreneuring. Believe me, it is more profiting. .

Sort:  

Congratulations @udiomuno! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Tnx steemitboard..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83