You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Students Returning To College At Older Ages

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

I'll be turning 50 on my next birthday and frankly dealing with an upside down educational system is not something I want to waste my senior years dealing with just for a piece of paper to prove my value and worth to exchange for just another enslaved position higer up the corporate pole regardless of the perks and pay. I wasn't lucky enough to get the resources necessary earlier in life so I've had to struggle and am still falling through the cracks as our governments keep breaking things. I'm at the backend of the WWII baby boom so the surge of retires well most likely exhaust my ability to receive social security as a retirement option so yet again I'll have been cheated as I have most of my life. My only hope is to get to my goal of self sustainability survival point which has been my backup, fallback, deadlast, bottom of the barrel position. But even if that fails there's always the free room and board and medical with our paid for prison system which some hellish days seems more desireable than anything else. You can even get time to yourself in solitary when you want by causing some trouble which is easy enough to do. If our society where fair there would be a test to pull those of us who have been trapped and place us in positions worthy of our true value but that sadly is not yet and may never be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65631.30
ETH 2609.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70