You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #steemiteducation -- ADHD -- Tips for parents and teachers.

That's all good advice ;-)

I've worked with ADD and ADHD kids for years, and if you ask my dad he will probably tell you I was one of them way back before it had even been invented.

Back then I was diagnosed as being a naught little shit ;-)

To this day I have no idea how I (or my parents) survived my childhood.

The big problem with many of these kids is frustration - the world moves too slow for many of them. They can handle a lot more input than normal people.

They are pretty much all good kids. They just need things to be done differently for them. They need more challenge, more interaction than other kids.

Put the effort in and what you get back is a kids that is very very bright, passionate, hard working - a high achiever.

Use drugs to calm them down and solve the problem, and you get a drug addict.

Sort:  

You inherited it, when I was young I ate a lot of meals off the mantlepiece because my bum was too sore to sit on.

It does follow through the male side, i can def see you both having it lol

Not in our case. We tried everything with Jess, i even started the diet, poor thing couldn't have anything nice. Medication worked for Jess, she chose when she wanted to stop taking them. When she wasnt taking meds no one would play with her on medication she had a life. Now she is grown up she is handling her problems a lot better. The Medication doesn't make them high it gives them focus.

I'm glad the meds worked for you. I've seen it 'work' for a lot of kids as well in that it made them stop acting out, but they were just zombies.

And once they stopped causing problems, that was the end of it. They were left to fend for themselves.

I've also seen what can work of they get looked after by someone who understands what's going on in their heads (me). They do really well, (most of the time).

Sometimes you need the drugs to get them started, and then a helping hand to teach them how to cope with a world that just isn't working for them.

I've seen a lot of kids get stuck on the medication i.e. they will be taking meds for the rest of their lives, with no other attempt to solve the problem.

And in that, they are drug addicts. Without the drugs they can't cope at all. They become dependent on them.

And that's a tragedy.

I'm very glad things worked out for you though :-)

I have seen it from both ends, we didn;t give her meds on weekends pr holidays, we let her be herself even though those times nearly killed me lol

oh man @trevor.george can you help adults too? I was diagnosed with ADHD a few years ago and man does it make adulting HARD. I don't take meds

I can try ;-)

It's different for everyone and everyone needs to handle it differently.

If you like, message me on steemit chat @trevor,george and we can talk things though a bit and see what I can do to help you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43