Did you know? Indiana's top 3 cash crops

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

This is a new series I am going to try out

I am going starting a new series called Did you know? It will be filled of random facts that I know about my state and the rest of the United States. I hope you enjoy it.

Corn is the number 1 cash crop in Indiana

Many people are familiar with Indiana knows a lot of corn is produced here. But Iowa produces more sweet corn than Indiana does. But Indiana produces the most feed corn in the United States and we are the largest producers of popcorn. We are also starting to produce more and more corn for ethanol. This time if year a drive through the country looks like this, as feed corn and ethanol corn is best as it starts drying out.
Screenshot_2018-09-03-20-35-40-1.png

Soy Beans is the number 2 cash crop in the state

There is more than corn in Indiana. There is also a ton of genetically modified soy beans. It is nearly impossible to find heirloom soy beans as it was one of the first plants genetically modified. I avoid soy products because I am not a big fan. But soy does pump a lot of money into my state. A lot of farmers rotate theie crops. So where soy beans grow this year corn will likely be in the same field next year.
Screenshot_2018-09-03-20-35-44-1.png

I knew what the top two cash crops were but the third top cash crop surprised me

As it is illegal in this state. Marijuana is the 3rd largest cash crop in Indiana though the numbers of how many acres was not available. And the money numbers only include confiscated marijuana not the stuff they miss. Which I bet will become number 1 once it is legal here in the state.
20180903_204345.jpg

So these are the top 3 cash crops in Indiana

Hay, Wheat, tobacco, apples, peppermint, potatoes, and oats round out the top ten list of our top cash crops. Do you know what your top 3 cash crops are in your state or community if outside the United States? If so let me know in the comments. If you don't know do a google search and find out. Because even if you don't work in that industry, that industry does effect the community's way of life.

social media done right updated (1).jpg

Sort:  

I suspect that most of the Corn and Soya are GMO and therefore a health risk, ironic how the illegal Marijuana has potential health benefits!

There is a lot of GMO corn too but there is a ton of heirloom around still. Numbers around here is 60% is gmo for corn 98% of soy is gmo

Crazy numbers, but the demand for organic is there now, GMO foods days are numbered, but sadly so are those of the guinea pigs who ate them.

Once it's legal, I want to grow my own for personal use. Once it becomes legal here, I'm losing my marijuana virginity. Want to eat it instead of smoking it. Maybe, I'll make a marijuana cheeseball.

P.S. Adios, Lymphedema!!!

I am from MO. Our top 4 crops, based on the value of production, are ...

  1. Soy Beans
  2. Corn
  3. Hay
  4. Marijuana

source

Isn't marijuana still illegal in your state too? Lmao too funny

So what you're saying is juat about any state where marijuana is listed in the top 10 is likely to be under-reporting the value because it is illegal and likely not tracked properly? If not, that's what I'm saying 🙂

That is what I was beating around. If it was tracked properly I bet it is number 1 but maybe not Colorado it is listed as number 4

Alaska's #1 cash crop is def Marijuana

This is interesting - especially as two of the crops you mentioned aren't food (ethanol corn and marijuana). Given the prices that pot sells for, it probably doesn't take a lot of acres to get it into the top three by dollar value. I'm sure it'll only go up as the laws change.

In Boston, you can be fined $250 for smoking tobacco in Boston Common. But I smell marijuana smoke there every single day. Crazy times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49