You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 20 - Steemiteducation Homework Turnin

wow. great tips! thank you for this. i feel guilty for not being able to check some hw. will really have to be diligent on it and be wiser in providing hw that will only take a few minutes of their time. empathy is the word. very true.

Sort:  

Don't get me wrong...I hope I didn't come across as these are easy fixes. You have to find ways that will work for you. find the routine, a system, and set up that makes it work for you.

I'll add in there too, I stopped getting "mad" about it as well. I think sometimes kids can "tune out" the angry/lecturing adult. So once I really turned into, "Look I'm not mad you didn't do the work. I'm really just disappointed."...in just a really calm, honest voice. It was amazing, then a few days later, that same student's words to me as he walked through the door was, "Hey, I got last night's homework finished."...like he was bragging about it. Which is awesome...so just as I make aware that I know he didn't do it 2 days ago, I had to make sure to reassure him I noticed it this time, acknowledge he did it...let him know that, YES, this is what I need to see.

But different students repond in different ways, and that again is part of getting to know your kids.

thanks so much for your insights. the attitude of the teacher is really important and we need to focus more on encouraging than looking at their shortcomings. those are very true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52760.21
ETH 2328.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12