Teaching in a private institution

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

635814188033245612360202778_Riggs_Teachers_Post(2).jpg

1


Teaching

Although teaching is one of the greatest things ever, there are many problems when we look at teaching sector. Especially If you are working in a private institution like me, things are getting worse. Even though education is my priority, money is more important for the owners of language schools. In this point, it sometimes makes teachers feel tired of dealing with all things as well as teaching. Today, I would like to talk about this issue as I am an active teacher.

It is really hard to teach people new things. It requires so much patience and great knowledge in the subjects that you are supposed to teach. As an English teacher, I have to deal with many students in different age groups. They sometimes to have be in the same class and I have to find some different techniques to make them sure that the time which they are spending in class is really effective and productive for them.


teaching-mixed-ability-classes-2.jpg

2


Class atmosphere

If you are a teacher in a private school, you will probably agree with most of things that I am writing in this post. One of the hardest things in teaching in a private schools is to deal with different students who have got different expectations. When they are together in a class, you have to be careful with each word you say in the class. You have to be sure that they all can understand what you are teaching well.

One of the biggest problems I am facing in my class is the level of students. When I teach in a beginner class, some of my students may not have heard even a single word in English before. It is really hard to teach them English with modern techniques. In new language teaching systems, you have to use the target language students are learning. However, when your student are completely ignorant about the language, it is really hard to use these techniques


763.jpeg

3


Classroom management

In the same class, there might be some students who are better than others. When you want to keep everyone happy with their learning progress, you face with serious problems. If someone hasn't heard anything about English before, you might prefer to keep things slow while other students who are better than those student demand a classroom atmosphere where they can make progress faster.

This is a problem that I am facing in some classes. The solution is to contact with the students who are not as good as other in their learning progress and try to encourage them to put extra effort inside and outside class. By doing this, we can balance things more effectively in the class. Another major problem that is forcing teacher is the age differences between students. In private schools, you might have to teach people who are in different ages.


INTESOL-teaching-in-a-classroom.jpg

4


Adults and teenagers

As you can guess easily, teenagers and adults are the people who are going through different life styles. When you have them in a common class, it is really hard to find the things which will make both sides happy. In private institutions, managers might ask you to teach them in same classes which is putting more pressure on teachers. As you have to work on students with different techniques, it really turns into a disaster.

Teenagers are more likely to laugh and see the language as a way of having fun in a class while adults are more serious about it. As these two groups come together in same classes, it is really hard to make both sides happy. When you can't create the balance between them, they usually feel down and lose their motivation to learn something which is also the end of their learning progress.

All these things are making everything really difficult in a classroom for teachers. As I said in the first sentences on this post, money and business are integrated into each other in private schools which is not a good thing at all. As teachers, we are always confused with this reality and feel kinda unhappy with this situation.


17502.jpg

5


Solution

How we can overcome these problems in the institutions that we are working for? I am sure there are many teachers who are writing with the tag of @steemiteducation. I would like to hear different views about this issue. If you are eager to share your opinion, you are welcome to post it in the comment sections so we can improve ourselves more to be more productive in classrooms.

follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

You got a 1.01% upvote from @boysteem00 courtesy of @chicosteem!

Send 0.050 SBD or 0.050 STEEM to @boysteem00 with your post URL in the memo. Get your post resteemed

I had ever been like you before, in 2006, I started teaching english in an english private course in aceh. At that time most of my students had their different goals in taking english course. I had 4 different classes, teenagers, college students, lecturer and NGOs worker (after aceh being hit by tsunami in 2004, many NGOs came to Aceh).
As you said in your post, its quite hard to make all the students happy and enjoyed our class. I did all my best managing my classes, when I got teenagers class, I used to tell them some funny stories before I start teaching the lesson, and it worked. Then when I taught adult classes, I used to make some jokes, fun discussions, its aimed to make the class athmosphere easier to teach.
That what I can share a little bit about my experiences. But anyway, enjoy your class. Everything need process, nothing great is built overnight. Thanks you for sharing sir.

You are welcome, I would like to thank you for spreading your valuable experience!

Your welcome

I am learning to write like you and other teachers. English isnt my mother tongue language. So, I need to learn a lot to be a good writer like you and others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45