Presentation / The key word to improve yourself!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

creative-presentation-ideas-dont-read-from-slides-2.png

1


Shaking hands

Are you one of those people whose hands shake when they hear the word of presentation? Well, you might be one of them and it is totally understandable. I get some reactions which show the state of fear when I ask my students to do presentation in my classes. However, presenting something in class or meeting is one of the best ways of self improvement. Why is that?

Personally, I have done lots of presentations and asked my students to perform some in my classes. The common thing about all these presentations is the result we get at the end. It is always positive. Nothing is gained without pain. Even though it is hard to perform a presentation in public, it helps us to improve ourselves a lot. Today, I would like to share my experiences as a teacher and an ex-student.


112-presentation.jpg

2


Learning by teaching

When you are the one who is supposed to a presentation in a class while people are looking into your eyes to see what you have prepared, you have lots of duties to do before and during the presentation. As we need to show something in presentation, it is important to do lots of research before and learn everything about our presentation well so that everything can go on without any problem.

As all educators know, teaching comes out through learning. When you learn lots of information about the thing that you are supposed to present to others, you are expected to teach people all materials and information you get. By doing this, you make sure that you learn a lot of new things by teaching others the same things, I still remember my first presentation at university and I can still present the same work.


Time.jpg

3


Time and experience

As time is not endless, there is time limitation in all presentations. If you are not experienced in time management, it make you fear a lot when you learn that you have got only 15 minutes. However, you will come over this problem if you plan all steps in your presentation. Presentation will help you to learn another thing which is time management.

Your first presentation may not the best one. However, as you keep presenting new things in your education and working life, you will see that you are getting better day by day. Experience doesn't come easily. If you want to be a good presenter and overcome your shyness, presentation will be the most powerful thing to boost your self improvement. This is the way of getting experienced.


Tips-to-make-a-great-presentation_1200x627.jpg

4


Confidence

Many people have problems in speaking in public. I remember how I was feeling when my teacher asked me to prepare a presentation about one of the movies I like. It was my Erasmus time and I hadn't presented anything before, that was a shame on my university. As I didn't have any experience in performing presentation, I was feeling myself shaking at the beginning of the presentation.

However, this presentation made a huge difference on me. After doing this presentation, all my friends and teacher whom I hated at the time I was informed about presentation congratulated me. It was really rewarding for me. This rewarding meant a lot of things for me. I finally managed to overcome my self-confidence problem and felt more eager to learn and share my works with others in every chance I got.


U5dqonZkFubZer84fPySQfd8uQ1R492_1680x8400.png


Education

I think, those presentations have led me to be an English teacher. Teaching requires confidence. Confidence comes through presentations which boost your experience. If you have anything to say about the importance of presentation, you are welcome to share with me and other Steemians.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your useful article. Public speaking is never easy for most people. I have not much problem when I am teaching in my classroom but the nervousness comes whenever I have to conduct a workshop or do a sharing to teachers of other schools. Each year, I am out of school a few times to conduct workshop for teachers from other schools. I still get the feeling of nervousness before starting the talk but it gets better after I start talking for a while.

As I have mentioned in my post, you get over your nervousness as you keep practicing.

HOLA AMIGO, HAY PERSONAS QUE SUFRIMOS DE MIEDO

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 34 SBD worth and should receive 112 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you for your support!

thank you for your support :)

Frankly speaking, I never liked all these presentations, as I'm not good at it.

For a very long time, I was the very person whose hands are shaking at the presentation, so this article is especially relevant to me. But I worked for a long time on myself and on improving my skills. So now I feel much more confident. Moreover, I have access to all the tools I need to make my presentation even better. I often use this source https://slidepeak.com/ and I want to note that the quality of the presentation is also very important for the speaker's confidence.

A good presentation is the key to success. I realized this over time. I work in a construction company, and I often have to make presentations to foreign partners. Each time I try to improve. I find different sources of new ideas, one of them is https://masterbundles.com/templates/presentations/google-slides/. This is a very useful resource, I found a lot of interesting templates here. Which has really transformed the presentation I am working on now. On how well I make it, depends on whether we will have a new contract or not. I hope for success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69345.70
ETH 3342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74