Learning Through Activities / Conjuctions!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

english-grammar.png

1


Grammar

As we all know, grammar teaching needs to be done very carefully and it should always be improved with new techniques. As an English teacher who is working for 12 months a year, I always do my best to teach my students with the best techniques. Today, I would like to show you an example lesson of teaching linkings words which are " because, while, when, so and until."

If you want to teach these linking words, the best way of doing is to conduct the lessons through a reading text or listening record. Students, who are not exposed some example which are about the subject that we aim to teach, can't understand the grammar clearly. Therefore, let's start with an example reading so that they can see how these linking words are used in a text.


linking-words-1-638.jpg

2


My last holiday!

In order to teach students linking words effectively, we can give them a short text so that they can see the way they are used in a paragraph. Dear students, let's read the paragraph and set the rules depending on the meanings of them in the content.

Amazing Time!

Last year, we decided to go to Paris for holiday. I enjoyed every second of it. We flew from Istanbul to Paris and stayed in the city (( until )) the 28th of August. (( When )) my father told me to pack my bags, I started crying. My mother asked me why I was crying. I was crying, (( because )) our holiday in Paris was amazing. My father promised to take me to Paris next year, (( so )) I stopped crying, I hope I will go back there again!


sentences.jpg

3


Set the rules!

When students are done with the text, you can ask them to set the rules by reading the paragraph more carefully. In order to make the exercise easier, you should some easy words so that they can easily guess what they mean in the content. Let me give you examples related to my paragraph.

a) We use........... to give the result of something.
b) We use........ to give the reason of something.
c) We use.......... to give the ending time of something.
d) We use.......... to say that two things are happening at the same time.

Your students will probably do it easily if they know the words and tenses which are used in paragraph. As setting the rules is not enough, we can also write some examples on the board and ask them to put suitable linking words. Let's check the sentences that I have prepared for this post.


blog_Practice-post-.jpg

4


Practice

My dear students, look at the following sentences and put the suitable linking words so that you can their usage much better. In this point, you can give a few minutes to your students to focus on the sentences. Here they are. Complete the sentences with so, because, when and until.

I was hungry, ..........I ate something!
I slept early,.............. I was tired!
I didn't sleep,........... 4 a.m!
I was listening to music........ my mother was cooking for me!

After doing these exercises, we can end the lesson by asking them to write a similar paragraph that they have read in the class. If your students are not so creative in writing a paragraph, you can also write some sentences and ask them to complete them. This way of practice makes things easier for them.


logo12.png


Education

When you find creativity ideas to conduct your lessons, your students will be more eager to join and have a successful learning process. I hope, this post can inspire you to plan your lessons more effectively. You are welcome to use this activity in your lesson!

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Everyone is welcome to have a look at @steemiteducation page and educate all people! Thanks for reading.


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97