English homework and Creativity!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

gi2cotxeR+iMW3417qQqNg.jpg


Homework

As an English teacher, I always try to find some interesting ways to help them pay attention to the lesson. As we all know, homework is a part of learning process. Many of my students are not interested in doing homework much. If you have this kind of problems, you should find some motivating ways to get them interested in doing their homework. I gave writing homework to my students last week.

One of them is studying at university. As she is really talented at drawing, I told her to do her homework with the combination with her favoure thing in her life which is drawing. To be honest, the result was much better. Their homework was about their daily life. They were asked to write about what they do in their lives and how they spend their lives. It was mostly about telling personal things.


fullsizeoutput_325.jpeg


Combination of skills

The first rule in teaching something is to make it as fun as possible. When you force your students to do something and give no reason why they are doing that, it is impossible for them to have a healthy learning process. I usually prefer to ask them how they feel about their learning process and try to learn if they are feeling down or tired of learning the language I am teaching.

Teaching is not all about writing some rules on the board or giving the homework. It must be done in many different ways. Drawing is a great way of doing that. This student is one example of my studies in the institution where I am working. We also try the same technique with students who are below 12. They learn better when they illustrate things and do their homework by drawing them.


fullsizeoutput_327.jpeg


Practice

Traditional ways do not work with students anymore. When I ask my students to tell me what they did last summer, they usually give the same answers by using the same structures. Teachers must be clever and problem solvers if students feel tired of their learning process. The student who made these drawing is only in A1 level. When I talked to her about her learning process, she said lots of good things.

Writing in English can sometimes be a bit hard. If you don't know what to write or feel the lack of creating visual in your mind, you should look for other sources to form your work at the end. After doing this homework, my student always tell me to give her more homework so that she can draw more things. This is the ideal motivation for her to be more engaged with English language.


dVSSaI45T8ehkgegaPGTpg.jpg


A good role model

As we all know, classroom is the place where all students come together as a family. When one of your students put an amazing work like the one you see in my posts, other also feel motivated and try to put something better. I don't mean to create a deadly competition between them, but it is a good source of motivation when they try to put more creativity in their homework.

In some of my classes, I arrange my students in groups and ask them to prepare some dialogues with music. It is another way of combining art with learning English. As they need both things at the same time and those things are interesting form them, they learn new things in English naturally without feeling bored for a second. I think, it is essential to be able to guide them to this kind of interesting ways in their learning life.


U5dqonZkFubZer84fPySQfd8uQ1R492_1680x8400.png


Creativity

Do your student manage to put creativity in their homework? If you have some interesting examples to mention, you are welcome to post them in comments section. We can get some new ideas from each other!

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

I remember when I was in school that sometimes the teacher arranged a movie session, and after the session each student was required to write what was the movie about, and the lessons we could learn from the movie.

Very fun and dynamic.

yes, they need to use the language in more practical ways!

I like it when my teacher does fun things to teach us, like debates

that is really cool, linshy! :)

Creative strategies that attract students' attention result in effective learning. thanks for sharing dear friend.

you are welcome, I am glad that you like it!

Hello dear @teachblogger, excellent! Thank you for your wisdom and for everything you do for us. May God bless you and fill you with success.

Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71