Demo lesson? Well, it is an easy task!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

1200x630bb.jpg

1


Ready to perform!

As many educators know, it not possible to get your dream teaching job without showing your skills to a person who is already working in the school which you would like to be a part. To make it more clear, we all need to give demo lessons to start teaching. Demo lessons make some people extremely nervous. However, being prepared and following some basic rules can help you to get the job you desire easily.

As an active English teacher, I have had to give some demo lessons in my teaching career. To be honest, I can say that I have improved myself in each demo, getting better at each of them. I would like to tell you how I have managed that. For a good demo lesson, a good lesson is a must. If an interviewer feels that you are not prepared with a plan for the lesson, it is already the end of demo lesson for you.


speak_clearly_by_itcamefrom4chan.jpg

2


Clear instructions

After explaining what you are planning for the lesson and showing the handouts with all visual that you would like to include in your lesson, it is time to start your demo lesson. You might either be asked to record your lesson by yourself or perform it in a room with an interviewer. I remember my last demo lesson. It was about 5 months ago for a certificate which can help me to work for international schools abroad.

I invited some of people that I already know to assist me in my demo lesson. If you know them well , it is a big plus for you. As you already know, a demo lesson is a show indeed which will result in your failure or success in getting a new job. As you manage your lesson, it is important to give clear instructions about everything related to lesson. This will prove how clear and certain you are at directing your students.


advice_for_teachers_to_help_prevent_misbehavior_in_their_classroom.jpg

3


Limit your speaking!

When we consider English teaching, it is really important to lead your students as an ideal role model. However, it doesn't mean that you should talk all the time in class. Being a good role model means rotating all students in a good way based on their learning objectives. If you are the only one speaking in the class, it shows that you are not good at teaching them about skills of a language.

How can it be achieved? It can be achieved through some activities. When we make plans for English lessons, it includes lots of grammar, vocabulary, writing, reading and visuals that can support other activities. If you manage to have all these activities done in class, you will eventually limit your speaking time and boost your students' speaking time. This is really crucial in demo and all other lessons.


students-377789_640.jpg

4


Activities

As I mentioned in the previous paragraph, limiting teacher's speaking time means boosting student's speaking time. It can be succeeded by pair and group activities. It is a must in teaching world. If you want your lesson so effective, you must plan all parts of the lesson based on activities. Teaching grammar by explaining some certain rules doesn't not mean anything if it is not supported by some activities.

In this point, the chosen topic for the lesson is very important. I usually prefer to make it very simple. To make it clear, teaching relative clauses in English grammar can be problematic and it is a bit hard topic to make your students work in pairs, so choosing that topic may not be a good idea. All these things should be well planned by teacher before demo lesson. If a person is experienced and well-prepared about it, everything will be perfect.


unknown.png


Education

This post is based on my experiences. If you want to make contribution, you are welcome to support it with your valuable comments. Your feedback is always precious for me, because teaching is also learning!

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. I recommend you to have a look at their page to get more information about them. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

When we consider English teaching, it is really important to lead your students as an ideal role model. However, it doesn't mean that you should talk all the time in class. Being a good role model means rotating all students in a good way based on their learning objectives. If you are the only one speaking in the class, it shows that you are not good at teaching them about skills of a language.

How can it be achieved? It can be achieved through some activities. When we make plans for English lessons, it includes lots of grammar, vocabulary, writing, reading and visuals that can support other activities. If you manage to have all these activities done in class, you will eventually limit your speaking time and boost your students' speaking time. This is really crucial in demo and all other lessons.

A well detailed post. Teachers going for an interview needs to read this.
My last interview went fairly well because I prepared for it . Teaching is an avenue to get better and improve oneself.

Now, am on the outlook for part-teaching jobs. To have time for other stuffs and steemit too.

Nice one English teacher!!

I wish you good luck in your job interviews :)

It is quite a routine in my country for teachers to be observed yearly as it is called lesson observation where their supervisor will enter the classroom to evaluate their lessons. The recent new thing is open classroom where a teacher agrees to demo a lesson so that a group of teachers can go in to observe to learn as professional sharing. Even though I have been teaching for years but my human nature of nervousness comes whenever I need to be observed. It is something that all teachers must start to get used to where being observed by many other teachers.

being observed by others makes people feel nervous naturally!

Great class today friend, congratulations, it's a pleasure for me, learn with you every day of my life. In the future my daughter will thank you.

greetings to your daughter!

Thank you for this. I wanted to pursue my teaching dream but it seems like demo lessons are hard for me. Thanks for sharing the tips and making it easy. I'll follow it the next time I am asked to do a demo lesson.

I am glad that you find it useful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37