Ice Painting - Rainy Day Activity

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

Guess what, today is the first day of school holidays for my son, and it's raining! According to the weather report it will be raining well into the weekend, sigh. Great, now what? It's at this point that I hop on to Google and start searching frantically for new ideas to keep my little guy busy and my sanity in check. I browsed and I browsed and I finally found something new to do, allow me to share this wonderful activity with you!

ICE PAINTING!

 

This nifty "trick" is not only perfect for rainy days indoors, but is also an excellent way to cool down on hot summer days too. It's also super affordable and if you have kids, it is very likely that you have all the materials you will need on hand already.

Image Source

Here's what you will need:

  • An oven tray (or something similar)
  • Water
  • Water-based paint
  • Markers/crayons
  • A4 sized Paper
  • Paper towels
  • Paint brushes

Instructions:

  1. Prepare this activity ahead of time by pouring water into a tray and freezing it.
  2. Once frozen, set up a station with paints and paint brushes.
  3. Let the kids paint on the ice.
  4. Place a sheet of paper over the painting, on the ice. Rub it all over so that the paper becomes moist and soaks up the water and paint.
  5. Allow the paper to dry. Depending on the weather, this might take some time.
  6. Once the paper has dried, the kids can further decorate their pages using markers or crayons.

PS. This can be used as gift wrapping paper!

Image Source

Image Source


Source Link: http://www.science-sparks.com/2015/02/03/ice-painting-ocean-themed/


Since it is school holidays, it is very likely that you will be getting more such activities from me, if I don't keep my toddler busy, he is sure to drive me up that crazy river! 

*** Use Christmas colors to paint the ice with and you will be left with some festive paper to wrap gifts with!

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Sort:  

It’s really cool! I mean both the work and the time spending on!😃

you done nice job on this passion i like it very much,

Thank you :)

This is a really creative activity for kids. Its sure to keep them engaged for quite some time. Thanks for sharing this lovely idea.


Your post has been resteemed to my 2500 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55