5 Reasons Why Toddlers Should Do Chores (Chore Ideas Included)

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

Toddlers are my favorite people, right now I have my own little tot who keeps me on my toes, tests me to the limits and gives the best snotty hugs in the world! It’s not always easy (who am I kidding, it’s MOSTLY not easy) but there is something about these tiny humans that keep you coming back for more!

As a first-time mom, I thought it was my job to keep my kid busy by loading our schedules with fun outings and filling boxes with the trendiest toys – but I quickly (and luckily) had the realization that I am spoiling him and that I am feeding the world to him and not allowing him to discover it for himself, in his own time. To do a job well, you need to start from the ground up, and the same goes for children, if they are going to learn how to be responsible and self-sufficient human beings, they need to learn to do so – and they are never too young to start! 

Image Source

 Reasons Why Toddlers Should Do Chores:

  1. Getting your little ones to help around the house helps them to learn life skills and how to become self-sufficient. Unlike teenagers, young kids actually have fun doing chores!
  2. Kids who assist with daily household chores become much better team-players, workmates and eventually life partners. Teach your children how to do chores when they are babes and by the time they are in High School they will be able to cope with the demands more easily.
  3. Completing a task makes you feel empowered, and it’s the same our children. I see it in my two-year old, once he completes a chore he radiates with pride and his self-esteem is boosted.
  4. Chores help young children learn the concept of “responsibility” and why being responsible is important. At the same time, they start mastering the art of being independent too.
  5. This is my favourite on: when you have tiny hands helping you around the house, mom’s workload is reduced and there is more time for quality family fun!

Here is a list of chores that toddlers are capable of helping with:

  • Picking up dirty clothes and putting them into the wash basket
  • Feeding the cat/dog
  • Opening/closing the curtains
  • Sweeping 
  • Watering the plants
  • Putting toys away
  • Wipe up messes
  • Wash toys
  • Get dressed
  • Brush teeth
  • Help vacuum
  • Help cook (cut veg etc. with a butter knife)

This is a chore chart I put together for my two-year old son. I kept it simple for now and will change it/add to it as he gets older. He loves doing his chores and his teacher has even praised him for being a star helper at his play group too! Feel free to use it! 

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)


Sort:  

I agree completely. A lot of kids grow up not knowing basic life skills, teamwork, and have little to no sense of responsibility. I grew up in a rich home and we had a weekly chart on who does the dishes and such lol. Great post!

Some of the chores listed here were stuff my mom let me do.. Like helping her around the house and garden with little things, getting to put my books and toys away for the day, arranging my crayons in their pack after use and all that. Delightful moments. Still remember.

Helpful post! Voted.

My girls are using me well. When I am home they run around in circles. When I clean up after them, they go and create the mess all over again. I get tired and sleep easier that way but they will play on pass midnight. No to them means be disobedient until dad says yes. Of course mother is boss so what she does the kids always listens. Now ask them to do chores... can I do a redo... Where is the reset button on those kids.

Your post has been resteemed to my 2500 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Totally cool sweetpea! So, true that tots both enjoy and need to be given some responsibilities and therefore be encouraged to be self-responsible and productive. Not sure a toddler should feed the dogs and cats 'cuz I think these animals require more than just bagged dry food to be healthy (that dry food is total crap and full of GMOs). But they could probably handle feeding the fish and chickens! Great post! Upvoted and followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.64
ETH 3491.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53