BEd Homework

I've realized that I promised to post some of my assignments.

This is something the prof called a "Frame of Reference" for what I want my teaching career to look like:

My Frame of Reference

I envision my classroom to be a safe place. Learning is challenging enough when you're growing up. Taking educational risks is challenging enough when you are growing up. Being concerned for your own safety while trying to piece together long division should not be something that a ten year old has to do. Having worked as an education assistant in schools that had some genuinely well thought out safety plans for students who had trouble being safe. These plans made a world of difference in both low and high risk situations. I will work towards building an environment that fosters trust in rules and protocol, as well as tolerance and understanding regarding the varying needs inside the classroom community.
Learning and discovery could be considered as synonyms, but I would argue that discovery has a self driven feel to it. I would like my students to discover math, literature, science, and art. Inquiry based learning would be an integral part of the discovery process. Self generated questions and driven learning would be key to stimulating learning experience. I want my classroom to be a laboratory of discovery. Learning through experimentation driven by curiosity and wonder would be my ideal learning environment.
I see my future classroom curriculum nature based. Time in nature is a personal value of mine, and I would like to integrate that into my classroom. I see the outdoors and my student’s natural world an extension of my classroom, and make the Canadian west coast the machine that drives my student’s curiosity. Thankfully, nature based learning works well with inquiry based learning. In a perfect world the two can act as a way to inform one another in order to generate and answer questions.
My hope is that through the next three years as an education student these three pillars will remain the same while I gain the knowledge and experience necessary to make this classroom a reality.
If you put all of these together, you have a safe environment that promotes self driven learning and environmental stewardship.

I've got more if this post does well, but I'm still pretty... not excited about steemit at the moment (exhaust not included).

Sort:  

Keep posting about your schooling stuff (and your Exhaust posts of course) because I like seeing what you're doing! Especially now that we're not seeing you almost daily anymore :(
You're going to be such a great teacher!

Another teacher. Welcome aboard. I'll be taking notes.. * scribble scribble *

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77