Frightening times ahead



Today I was elected a Site Convenor of SADTU (South African Democratic Teachers' Union). SADTU is South Africa's largest trade union for teachers representing over 254 000 members. I am now in the executive committee of my site(school). I should be excited but I am instead rather concerned.

I don't do well in politics. I'd rather stay clear of them but under the current circumstances I find myself left with no other option but to get involved. I have much to learn concerning my new position but very little time. A storm is brewing and by the time it hits my wings need to be strong to withstand it.

SADTU has been in talks with the department of education (the employer) regarding better wages against the recent tax hike of 15%. Electricity has gone up by 35%. Petrol is now plus minus R17 per litre. The cost of living has gotten significantly expensive but our salaries haven't been adjusted to keep up. This forms part, amongst other issues, of what the negotiations are about.

For the past few months the employer has been undermining the negotiations and trying to demoralise the union. The union has however steadfast in its pursuit to fight for its members' rights. This is where my concerns are arising from.

If by next week Tuesday, 24th of April 2018, the employer does not meet SADTU's requests we will go on strike, total shutdown. When this happens many parties will suffer; the children will suffer the most. The workers are also going to face the repercussions of the strike. The "no work no pay" policy will be implemented by the employer. This means all teachers who go on a LEGAL strike will have their pay deducted for each day they are on strike plus penalties.

I haven't been a teacher for even five years and already I find myself between a rock and a hard place. As part of the committee I must implement the orders of my union at my school. This will result in me defying the employer and challenging my principal, something of which I am not at all looking forward to.

I hope that the meeting on the 24th of April 2018 will see all parties involved coming to a mutual agreement so that this strike can be prevented. If not... it will be war...


Sort:  

This seems to be the state of affairs in many places, where prices have risen but salaries haven't.

Exactly. It makes no sense that the price of living increases but the salaries don't. How are workers supposed to survive in such economic environments?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68530.21
ETH 2695.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72