How to: Steem Dunk (for old-ish people)

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Do you run out of voting power? Are you afraid to try voting bots? Do you even understand bots of any kind? Yeah, me too. My eyes crossed just writing those three sentences.

So take a seat and here is my tale for today. It does have a happy ending!



Everyone said how much easier voting would be when I got to 500 SP (Steem Power) and received the slider. They lied to me. Just telling the truth. I'm very sure they all meant well, but the plain truth was it was not, in the least, easier to stay above 90% voting power or even 80% VP for that matter. I was getting frustrated to no end.

Now, since I have been on Steemit I have to admit my son, @ecoinstant, has tried to teach me about Steemit's technical things. When he starts talking about technical stuff, my mind just goes blank, and I hear "whaa waa whaaa wahhhh whaaaa!"

Yes, just like in a Charles Schulz's Peanut's Cartoon when the teacher talked in the classroom. I'm really showing my age now!





With my frustration level getting higher and higher, knowing I was not using my voting power wisely with my friend's posts and new wonderful Authors I would come across, I started searching for answers.

I needed someone that I knew kept on top of their Steemit money, knew they used a voting bot, and someone I would not feel stupid asking them to repeat themselves over and over again when I did not understand. Meaning I was searching for a person I Trusted a Ton.

Lucky for me, I knew just this type of person! So I asked them the question about Voting Bots. No, not that one! I asked them how they liked them and waited for an answer.

What came back was this link: https://steemdunk.xyz

and the words, "This is what I use".

Hmmmm...........

I wrote back thanking them for the link. Saying that now that I have this link what do I DO about it. No, I don't trust unknown links or Bots! Maybe it's an age thing. I don't know.

They nicely came back and tried to give a simple explanation on how to use Steem Dunk (@steemdunk). My eyes only got a tiny bit crossed so there was some hope! They then said to just try it and keep your levels low until you know what you are doing.

Hmmmmm..........



So what is Steem Dunk (@steemdunk)? It's a voting bot you can use for free for the first twenty people you want to vote on daily.

There are two more levels of Steem Dunk, Silver, and Gold. You purchase these new levels to vote for more than twenty people. I have not used them yet. This will just be a basic beginner tutorial.



It took one more frustrating day with my voting power below 80% to finally say to myself, "SUCK it UP! and try the darn voting Bot!"

I did to both of the questions you now have.

I clicked on the link, signed in and set it all up, double checking, rechecking, keeping levels low and left to wait to see if it worked.

Thank Goodness I checked it when I did! None and I mean none of my settings had saved! My fault!! 100% my fault. I guess I'm missing the gene, "you can figure out things without any directions" those younger people nowadays seem to have. I don't know.

Lucky for me, only one person had posted an article! That article was given a 100% Upvote!

And that is why I'm writing this How to: so you don't make the same mistake I did when using this GREAT voting bot, Steem Dunk, that HAS made my Steemit life so much easier, now that I know what I'm doing!



Steem Dunk Voting Bot~Basic set up.



  • click on this link: https://steemdunk.xyz/

  • A new browser tab will open up like the page shown below.

  • Click on Sign Up





  • A Steemconnect window will pop up next.

  • Click on Continue





  • Add your Steemit username without the @ and using lower case letters.

  • You will need to find your Ower, active key or Master password (this took me 15 minutes!)

  • Type in the 20,000 numbers to your password and hit Sign In

  • Swear

  • Retype your password.

  • Click on Sign In





All the rest of the information shown below is on 1 browser page. I cut it into sections so it was easier to explain.



  • The first thing you will see is how much voting power you have.

  • Next to that you will see that the bronze level is up to twenty people and it's free to use as of right now.





  • Look at the lower left of your browser page. You will see Author Curation

  • Add a name of someone you vote on every day using lower case letters and no @

  • Click on Add Author





  • Looking to your right on the same browser page you will see the slider's come up.

  • Make sure the Author you want is highlighted.

  • In the photo below are the default settings.

  • You are going to want to change these for each author you will be adding.





This is where 'Start Low' comes into effect



  • Voting Weight: Use the voting slider to pick how much of your voting power you will use on each of that Author's posts.

  • If you don't have the slider when voting in Steemit.com, you will still be able to use the slider here. WOOT!

  • Voting Delay: Using the slider, pick the time when you want your vote to happen after an author has posted.

  • There are all kinds of theories to when the best time is to auto-vote on posts. I can not answer this question for you.

  • Max Daily Votes: Using the slider, pick how many posts you want to vote on a day for this Author.





Click Update Author

Click Update Author again just to be sure!





  • If you typed a name in wrong or just want to delete someone from your list, Click on the red, I no longer support this author.




  • Once you have all the Authors you vote on daily entered and saved. Take a deep breath and get a drink of some kind and wait.

  • Once an author on your list posts it will show up at the bottom of your browser as seen below.

  • It will tell you who posted and the title of their post.

  • Once you have seen that it works and all your settings have been saved, relax and just enjoy reading your friends and favorite authors when you have time.

  • I am still adjusting my sliders to find the perfect mix for me to still have enough voting power to vote on comments and new authors I run across.





I hope this has made you less worried about trying a voting bot. Using Steem Dunk, for me, has taken a lot of pressure I had put on myself to make sure I voted on the people that I want to support daily on Steemit.




Snook



Sort:  

Thanks for this steemdunk guide, the funniest one yet, I think @snook deserves an upgrade. @samrg472

Thank you for liking my How to!! :D and very happy I could make you laugh!! :D

This voting bot has really made my life easier and thank you for the suggestion about the upgrade. I was just waiting on the SDB to upgrade, which I finally got yesterday and took care of this morning!!
It's the least I can do to help support something that has helped me every day on Steemit!!

Thank for the resteem!! :D Hope your day is a great one!!

When I have a bit more SP I might take a look into this. Thanks for sharing. More tools for the box when I need them :) Step-by-step was great!

Step-by-step was great!

Thank You for the great compliment!! I'm never sure if I go to in-depth and bore people but I write my 'how to's' like I would want so it's great to know others like the same thing......with a bit of humor thrown in so you don't fall asleep loll

The humor really keeps me coming back for more ;p!

Thanks, @snook!

I'm using Steemauto, for now, but I'l consider Steemdunk when I get more voting power.

Great tutorial, and yeah, I remember the Peanuts cartoons as well. Us oldsters need to stick together! ;-)

WE DO!! :D and my life has really been made easier using this Bot / tool!!

Thanks again, @snook - I'll check it out!

Great post i love it

Thank you! I hoped it helped you learn something useful!

@snook your illustration was great! you have just enlighten me more about steemdunk. THank you.

blessings.

what will steemduck upvote give me after sending 0.200sbd

About 0.500 in rewards.

Thanks for your helpful post. I am new here in steemit, could you please suggest in breif what would be better for me as a beginner?

Wow... This information is really useful! Thanks for sharing this information

thank you for this information i add you as one of the authors to be upvote :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48