You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Learn English for Free

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

These are exceptionally wonderful tips to learning a particular language but I think the best out of all you have said is to surround yourself with that language. By surrounding yourself I mean going to a community where that language is being spoken alone or atleast to a percentage of 80.

Seriously it can be very difficult learning a new language by just reading books and watching the telly even though the telly (with subtitle translation) is way easier than reading. But going to that actual place just makes it easy...how do I know this.

There's something we do in my country where graduates are sent to different parts of the country to go serve the father land. It's called National Youth Service Corp NYSC. The idea was to help unite the while country and to make everyone have a feel of other parts of the country you have never been to. I am feom the East where we speak Igbo but I was sent to the west where Yoruba happnes to be the primary language. Now I am forced to learn yoruba so as to be able to cope in the land. Now learning that has been quite easy because I stay with people who speak Yoruba every second and most times don't even understand me when I speak English .

If I were to by Yoruba books, trust me I wouldn't make a head way with that or it would take me even longer to learn yoruba.

So it is important to go to the community and stay a while with them thereby learning their language ...My 2 cents though

Sort:  

That is absolutely the very best way- to go to that country for an extended time and fully immerse yourself in to the language, Culture- everything. You are right. Then, you're forced to learn because that is all there is.

Unfortunately, many people are unable to do so- much like my grandpa. He had to learn via the record album as he worked and saved year after year to be able to go to America.

But if you cannot travel yet, you can do something like that at your home with a little planning- get your friends together who wish to learn and have entire days and weekends where it's nothing but English! You might even be able to find someone in your community who speaks English well who will love to join!

I really love what your nation does. I believe everyone should travel and experience other people's and cultures. I believe travel is the absolute best education.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41