I Won a T-Shirt Thanks to Steemit

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I won a t-shirt thanks to Steemit

And I did a happy dance :) Here's the full explanation of why being on Steemit helped me to win a t-shirt in a contest against a lot of others.

Sindore

What happens, when you arrive on Steemit as a freshly picked minnow? You do a search on Steemit to find posts that interest you, right? And you also look for posts that explains how Steemit works, don't you?

That's what I did, at least. I'd read an excellent manual, which helped me a lot (thank you, @hopehuggs), but I wanted to know more... More about how to gain followers, more about getting your blog posts read.

Okay, okay, more about making money, too. Right. I said it.

Sindore

My search led me to posts about leaving comments, commenting contests and more, and I started reading.

This is my summary of what I discovered:

A good comment must reveal that you have indeed read the post. You can do that by mentioning one or more of the points the author brings up.

A good comment ads value to the post.

Sindore

I don't think my comments truly sucked before I read more about it here on Steemit, but I know that I've put more focus on writing good comments afterwards.

So when I received an email about writing headlines, and the best comment would win a t-shirt, I was in.

Here's the T-Shirt I won

I won this t-shirt

This is how I did:

  1. I read the article, thought about it, and got ready for commenting.
  2. In the comment, I mentioned one of the points from the blog post, which I agreed to fully.
  3. The author had asked us which of his ten headlines we liked the most. I had an idea for what I thought was a better headline, and I wrote this headline in the comments.

this is how I won a t-shirt

I was lucky (thanks to doing a lot of rehearsal on Steemit), and the author liked my comment.

Afterwards, a lot of copycats tried my method with coming up with new headlines, but today, I learned that I had won. Yay!

What Have You Learned On Steemit and Use Elsewhere?

Are you putting more effort into writing blog posts? Or comments? Or have you added new structure to your day? Gotten up earlier like @solomonsel?

Tell me about it in the comments. And let me know what you think about using Steemit knowledge elsewhere.

Sort:  

@sindore -great post by the way. I am glad that you won the T-shirt. Nice examples of catchy headlines. I try and think of a good headline- and sometimes I get brain freeze! I'll have to refer to your post next time. Keep up the great work.

Congratulations @sindore! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That's awesome you won a shirt! It's cool that Steemit taught you about writing better comments so you were able to win the contest.

BTW, how did I miss you are Britt Malka?! Haha, I have seen you around IM forums and I think in a Kindle FB group too? Nice to see you here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67