Teachers blog # 6: Why is learning English Difficult?

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180209_214933.JPG
(Finds The English subject uninteresting)

If you are not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you are determined to learn no one can STOP you.

As an English teacher it has been a struggle I face everyday whenever I have a class. Students commonly complain about using the language English as our medium. The first thing they always say whenever I let them answer orally or write an essay is "Ma'am Pwedi Bisaya?".
IMG_20180130_085008.jpg
So how does someone learn or improve themselves in the language which is not their native language? What are common mistakes students encounter when using the language? And what is the fastest way to be a good English speaker?

I will discuss all of this in this blog with the best way that I can. This are just my observations and from my experience of teaching.
1518188776241.jpg

So how does someone learn a second language? I have been a teacher for Korean students for almost 5 years. What I have noticed is Language Interference is a big hindrance in learning a language. Specially those whose language has already rooted in their system. That means their tongue is hard enough to adjust to how the new language that is being pronounced. So letters like L,R,F,V,TH are usually mispronounced. The accent they use in their language is the same accent they use when they speak English.

This is how it works,as young as possible you must expose yourself in the use of the language. See how children improve or learn something so quickly, the younger you are taught with something the faster you ameliorate.
Engage yourself through conversations. Specially to English speakers. The more you use the language the easier you adopt to the language.
1518183875450.jpg

What are common mistakes that students encounter in using the language?

These are the list of mistakes students commit:

  • sentence structure
  • the wrong usage of verb, adjective,adverb,modals,article
  • punctuation marks
  • wrong choice of words
  • capitalization
  • spelling
  • language interference
  • translating own language to english

I have noticed that as students use gadgets specially the use of cell phone, limits their knowledge about the correct use of the spelling by shortening the word.

So what is the best way to improve your English skills? First is improving your writing skills first. It is easier to write in English for you have enough time to think of what to write. It is also advisable to watch English movies or listen to english songs. List down the words you are unfamiliar with and find it's meaning. Once you have mastered this its the best way is to apply it through Conversation. Talk Talk Talk

Patience and willingness are two important characteristics one should possess, if you have these then it is easier for you to enhance your speaking skills.

IMG_20180209_230832.JPG
FB_IMG_1518154574747.jpg

Follow me

@sawi :")

Sort:  

Woff, woff!

Hello @sawi, Nice to meet you!

I'm a guide dog living in KR community. I can see that you want to contribute to KR community and communicate with other Korean Steemians. I really appreciate it and I'd be more than happy to help.

KR tag is used mainly by Koreans, but we give warm welcome to anyone who wish to use it. I'm here to give you some advice so that your post can be viewed by many more Koreans. I'm a guide dog after all and that's what I do!

Tips:

  • If you're not comfortable to write in Korean, I highly recommend you write your post in English rather than using Google Translate.
    Unfortunately, Google Translate is terrible at translating English into Korean. You may think you wrote in perfect Korean, but what KR Steemians read is gibberish. Sorry, even Koreans can't understand your post written in Google-Translated Korean.
  • So, here's what might happen afterward. Your Google-Translated post might be mistaken as a spam so that whales could downvote your post. Yikes! I hope that wouldn't happen to you.
  • If your post is not relevant to Korea, not even vaguely, but you still use KR tag, Whales could think it as a spam and downvote your post. Double yikes!
  • If your post is somebody else's work(that is, plagiarism), then you'll definitely get downvotes.
  • If you keep abusing tags, you may be considered as a spammer. It may result to put you into the blacklist. Oops!

I sincerely hope that you enjoy Steemit without getting downvotes. Because Steemit is a wonderful place. See? Korean Steemians are kind enough to raise a guide dog(that's me) to help you!

Woff, woff! 🐶

thank you @krguidedog. I have included kr as one of my tag for I thought it might be a great help for Korean students who has been studying English. I believe that English is widely used internationally and as I have experienced as an English teacher it has been a problem to most Koreans on how to improve their English skill. If you see my post unhelpful I shall change my tag.. Thank you

thank u for the tips @sawi😊

kr-guide!

Watch English movies is the best way to learn English.

yes true thats what I tell my students.. but most students prefer Tagalog or Filipino movies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65663.89
ETH 2670.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91