You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I taught my daughter the difference between You're and Your

I still remember being introduced to English, I first learnt of it's existence in my 4th grade and it was VERY challenging for me for the first couple of years.

The only factor that gave me a jump-start was my teacher back then, she was pretty different from other teachers, while they used shouting or hitting with sticks/water hoses as a form of punishment (a very popular thing in Egypt), she studied each student personally, and only gave punishment through grades, which was actually a new thing to me, if you can believe it.

Later on, I became the worst student in the class. Luckily, she discovered that i was - in short terms - a sore loser, I was the kind that if provoked about being less (in anything, really), would feel immense shame and work myself to death so i wouldn't be called that again, and so she found her way in through there, giving me subtle nudges, my grades went up, a month or so later, my mother - noticing the grade-difference - approached her to give me private lessons with my younger brother and a few other kids, her way of educating was also different from the other teachers, while they only treaded what was in the books by the letter, never going out of it or even approaching their subjects as the sciences they are, her approach was that of teaching a language, as a whole, not the yearly quota of information restricted by school books.

And nowadays, my English - while very far from perfect - is one of the few things I take pride in, thanks to her. I hope you become that sort of inspiration to your daughter, in all things, and thank you for a memory juggling post!

Sort:  

When I was in school, whether I liked the subject or not heavily depended on the teacher. I try to remember that now when I'm tutoring my kids. What you wrote is very inspiring. Thank you, @sandstrider!

And allow me to say that your English is very good 👌

Here it's very much the same, thank you for the very kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45