You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Read Creatively and Artfully: Making the Most of your Story Reading and Sharing Experiences

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Bravo, another quality and helpful content.
I was away from my kids for two years before, from then on I have forgotten how to be a tutor-mom to them. My patience runs out very quickly and I figure it was because I no longer have the knowledge to interact with them.Thanks @evlachsblog you're tips are very simple and easy to follow yet effective.

Sort:  

Thank you for your feedback. I don't have a child yet, but I feel you. If I were to put myself in your shoes, I would have felt the same way, feeling like I am unable to connect or relate to them being apart for that long. But hey, just continue doing what you're doing, spending every bit of quality time with them, and making the most out of everything to shower them with your love and care.

As for their literacy and language skills development, there are also other ways that you can do whilst spending every quality time with them. For example, before you go shopping, involve them with your planning, such as writing down the list of things that you need to buy from the supermarket. Even their numeracy skills can be further developed by involving counting, adding or subtracting when buying your grocery goods. Like, "how many eggs do we need to fill up the tray?" or, "What is 10 pesos take away 5pesos?" On your way to the shop, familiarise them with the street signs that they commonly see. Everything around us is full of opportunities for holistic development of our children.

But don't be too hard on yourself. I know that parents can only do so much. All we can do is try to instil the love for learning in our children, and we pray to God that they will not depart from our teachings.

Whoaa, my second kid loves writing down the grocery list and the eldest checking what we lack from looking at fridge and the kitchen cabinets. I haven't involved them in that activity for a few months now.
We will do that again ..thanks much :)

That's great. Grocery shopping will be so much more fun from now on (as long as they will only list down the necessities!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62