You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An American Tragedy: Story of Mike Webster, Pro Hall of Famer & CTE

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

A truly tragic story! Iron Mike was instrumental in making the Steelers the powerhouse they were in their heyday of the 70's! I remember him well from those days. I remember seeing a movie about his life (I think on Netflix)... What a tragic story and could (should) have been prevented!

Sort:  

Thank-you for your comments @richq11. I agree that this is a tragic story. When I was doing my research on CTE I came across Mike's sad story and the struggles he encountered. What was even more sad it that he lost everything and the pain he went through. That is why I had to write about it.

CTE is a terrible way to suffer and the young children who are doing contact sports can also develop this because they are starting so young. Parents need to wake up. Hopefully more research can be conducted to find ways to help these veterans. Again thank-you!!!

I'm old and remember the Steelers of those days well. Without Mike protecting him, Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, et.al. would have been mediocre at best. The movie was heartbreaking to watch- such a fine man. I am happy to say that the helmets they use now offer a lot more protection.

Thank-you so much for your wonderful comments. It is greatly appreciated. Mike's story was so important for people to hear about because it is so sad when they played so hard for the team and fans without realizing what they are doing to their bodies and brains. Hopefully medical science will find a way to also reverse this Tau protein. In a way it is like Alzheimer's.

I hope you have a wonderful day and again, thank-you for your comments and support. It is deeply appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65