Twenty four teenagers sitting in a room…

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Twenty four teenagers sitting in a room…


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

I agree that 20 is too many - but at the same time I dream of only having 20! In my A2 class I now only have 16 (down from 36 last year) but my current AS class is still hovering at 26 (down from 35 in September). Plus the irony of being held to account for 'losing' students if I don't retain the original high number, when it was way too high to get meaningful teaching and good results.

I think most of the school system has its roots in Taylorism, which is basically a factory model. I'll have to go and check exactly how though.

My solution (not my invention) has been to flip the learning. I'm having mixed success so far. Students watch videos and make notes / read books and make notes outside of lessons. Then they come to lessons having 'prepped' a bit, and can ask questions / get guidance from a stronger position having already partly explored the topic. Then homework style tasks get done in lesson time while I am there for them to ask questions if they need to.

We stumbled into homeschooling for my daughter. It didn't start out that way, but after Montessori didn't work for her, we ended up on the path ... interesting considering my wife grew up Montessori and was a Montessori teacher before my daughter came along.

I often think just how much school for me was like a corporate management job. Only now, if I sat in meetings all day long, I'd be complaining of feeling like crap at the end of the day. Back then, that was just another day as a student -- seven 50-minute meetings (classes) with a break for lunch.

Just sit there, be still, mostly be silent, and don't fall asleep.


Sorry I can't help with the origin. I'm curious to know that, as well.

For the U.S., I heard the school day was modeled after industrial factories -- only something of a knowledge-based assembly line with bells ringing in-between shifts (classes). Of course, to improve efficiency -- sort the kids by age and ability.

If you can afford it then home schooling is such a great option!

I agree - I'm sure the model is a throwback to the industrial era!

Exactly man, it must come to an end. A teacher can't perform effectively in such situation. Educational stakeholders need to take up the responsibility and act now. I was faced with hell here in Nigeria where I have over 40 students in my class. Teaching - learning process was slow and poor. No result was achieved and I ended up getting a blame from my boss. Glad am out of the system and doing fine here.

Thanks for the comment, I'm aware I've got it relatively easy in the UK... but I know the drive to raising standards and cut costs at the same time is very common globally.

Sadly for teachers it seems the only way is to get out of mainstream education!

Exactly and opt for something better. 👍

Totally agree. It's an unengaging and ineffective way to teach. Children that need more attention or are ahead of the curve usually don't get the attention they need either.

Have you heard of Jerry Pournelle's Iron Law of Bureaucracy?

Also if you haven't checked out my latest rant might enjoy it.

It is a rather un-ideal ratio to say the least!

I'll check them both out, cheers!

It's really tough for the teacher to concentrate on all of them During my schooling, we used to have around 40-50 students in each class. During my under graduation, we used to be around 65 students in a class. The teachers won't be able to control the class as at least few notorious students will be there in the class and half of the lecture time will be taken to take the attendance and control the class room.

Precisely! It's such an un-ideal number!

Such a amazing blog post,keep sharing,thanks a lot sir,following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72