You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The World of Dyslexia: The Difficult Journey to Be Understood

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

I think it is great that dyslexia is getting attention in elementary schools now, so kids these days don't grow up thinking they are stupid like I did when I was young. I used to be the dumb kid in class throughout elementary school and a few years after that. Until I got my first set of IQ tests at 15 years of age and it turned out I was actually in the 3 sigma high IQ range. Teachers back then really didn't know jack about dyslexia even existing, but after some experimenting one amazing teacher gave me a two inch wide black ruler to read with and it truly changed my life. In a matter of just months I went from being the dumbest to being the smartest kid in class. Today my Kobo reader is my absolute best friend. I've got it sent to OpenDyslexic font with increased line spacing and that combination works wonders for me.

I think it's important to note that dyslexia is not a single thing. Instead, it's a wide spectrum of cognitive distinctions involving written language. As such, there is no single way for managing it. While font and linespacing work wonders for me, to the point that being a slow reader is the only remaining handicap for me, for many others font and line spacing changes have absolutely zero attenuating effects.

Sort:  

@pibara, your comments not only made my day but I am so thrilled that you were able to overcome what you went through in your early educational years. Fortunately you had someone who believed in you and helped you take that first step to being who you really are. You were the one who fought hard to break through that stereotypical label and look how far you have come. I am truly so proud that you didn't let labels or people's opinions stand in your way. You are an inspiration!!!!!

Pibara, you should write an article to share what it was like for you when you were treated as so called "stupid". Teachers, parents and other children with dyslexia need your inspirational story!!! I know people need a lot of education and you could help provide it. They need to feel and see how cruelty and being labeled can really hurt a totally feeling child.

Thank-you so much for sharing your story. I will always remember it and how you actually rose above all these people who doubted you. I wish you nothing but the best. You deserve it, especially being do determined. Please take care and again, thank-you so much! ......Cabbagepatch :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56796.26
ETH 2497.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23